Spain win in Madrid

Sun, 12 Feb 2012 00:00
Large 2501 0 0 0 2655732
Spain beat Georgia, the log leaders, by 25-18 in Madrid on Saturday in a European Nations Division One match.

Spain beat Georgia, the log leaders, 25-18 in Madrid on Saturday in a European Nations Division One match, Georgia's first defeat in the second year of a competition run over two years.

There were some 10,000 spectators in the sunshine in Madrid where the temperature was about 8°C, as a much depleted Georgian side took to the field as club commitments in France again took priority.

As expected it was a match of contrasting styles - the speed of the Spanish backs against the force of the Georgian forwards.

When Spain could break the shackles, they were threatening. Spain also used the boots of Charlie Malie and Mathieu Peluchon to get them into Georgian territory.

Spain scored first, a penalty by Peluchon and it was only two late tries by Georgia that brought the visitors close as their pack kept powering ahead.

César Sempéré, playing in the unusual position of centre scored two tries in the match, his first to take the score to 8-0. Lelo No.8 Dimitri Basilaia scored his side's first try when he latched onto a cross kick by Merab Kvirikashvili.

At half-time Spain led 18-8 and then early in the second half Sempéré scored his second try.

The scorers:

For Spain:
Sempéré 2, Visengsang
Cons: Peluchon 2
Pens: Peluchon 2

For Georgia:
Basilaia, Machkhaneli, forwards
Pen: Kvirikashvili

The teams:

Spain: 15 Mathieu Peluchon, 14 Ryan le Roux, 13 César Sempéré, 12 Pierre García, 11 Sébastien Ascarat, 10 Charlie Malie, 9 Sébastien Rouet, 8 Mathieu Visengsang, 7 Glenn Rolls, 6 Gauthier Guibouin, 5 Tom Parker, 4 Jesús Recuerda, 3 Jesus Moreno, 2 Beñat Auzqui, 1 Anthony Pradalie.
Replacements: 16 Jonathan Phipps, 17 Joe Hutchinson, 18 Craig Lyons, 19 Mathieu Roca, 20 Adrien Ayestarán, 21 Carlos Blanco, 22 Sergi Aubanell.

Georgia: 15 Revaz Gigauri, 14 Giorgi Shkinin, 13 Davit Kacharava, 12 Merab Sharikadze, 11 Irakli Machkhaneli, 10 Merab Kvirikashvili, 9 Irakli Abuseridze, 8 Dimitri Basilaia, 7 Givi Berishvili, 6 Giorgi Chkhaidze, 5 Konstantine Mikautadze, 4 Levan Datunashvili, 3 Beka Sheklashvili, 2 Shalva Mamukashvili, 1 Mikheil Natriashvili.
Replacements: 16 Karlen Asieshvili, 17 Levan Chilachava, 18 Giorgi Nemsadze, 19 Giorgi Kalmakhelidze, 20 Giorgi Begadze, 21 Beka Tsiklauri, 22 Alexander Todua, 23 Lasha Malaguradze, 24 Beka Bitsadze.

Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Michael Black (Ireland), Sean Gallagher (Ireland)