Canada and Samoa meet in Wales

Thu, 08 Nov 2012 10:54
Large paul perez kings hand off 6

Samoa beat Canada in 1999 and, the last time the two teams met, in 2000, but this time Canada have a good chance of winning in North Wales.

Samoa beat Canada in 1999 and, the last time the two teams met, in 2000, but this time Canada have a good chance of winning in North Wales.

Samoa have gathered their team from all over the globe - England, France. New Zealand, Japan. Wales and South Africa. And there are even two who play in Samoa - Robert Lilomaiava and Ropeti Lafo. By and large they are a professional side, though they are without Paul Williams, David Lemi, who is their captain on their tour, Lolo Lui, Kahn Fotuali'i, Kane Thompson,  Iosefa Tekori and Ti'i Paulo. In the Manu Samoa side there are five new caps - Filo Paulo,  Fomai Tivaini, Setaimata Sa, Robert Lilomaiava and Ropeti Lafo. The team to play Canada has a distinctly experiential air about it.
This time Canada must have a good chance.
Mind you, Canada are not a settled team either. They have nine changes from the team that played Georgia in June. Ray Barkwill comes in at hooker on international debut, one of three changes to the front row,  Jon Phelan comes in at lock, Sean White at scrumhalf, Ciaran Hearn at fly-half, Matt Evans and Taylor Paris on the wings.
It seems that the days of picking your best team for a Test match are well gone.
Samoa lie three places higher than Canada in the IRB rankings, in tenth position.
The match is part of the IRB International Rugby Series which will be played in the splendid facilities at Parc Eirias. Mind you, the rain forecast may well negate the ground's facilities.

15 James Pritchard (Bedford Blues), 14 Taylor Paris (Glasgow Warriors), 13 Ciaran Hearn (Castaway Wanderers), 12 Phil Mackenzie (London Welsh), 11 Matt Evans (Cornish Pirates), 10 Connor Braid (James Bay), 9 Sean White (James Bay), 8 Aaron Carpenter (Plymouth Albion), 7 Chauncey O’Toole (Brigand Ravens), 6 Tyler Ardron (Brantford Harlequins), 5 Tyler Hotson (London Scottish), 4 Jon Phelan (Ste-Anne-de-Bellvue), 3 Doug Wooldridge (Lindsay), 2 Ray Barkwill (Niagara), 1 Hubert Buydens (Saskatoon Wild Oats)
Replacements: 16 Ryan Hamilton (Capilano), 17 Jason Marshall (Aurillac), 18 Andrew Tiedemann (FC Auch Gers), 19 Brett Beukeboom (Plymouth Albion), 20 John Moonlight (James Bay AA) , 21 Eric Wilson (Meraloma RC), 22 Nick Blevins (Calgary Hornets) Calgary, 23 Jeff Hassler (Okotoks/Prairie)

Manu Samoa: 15 James So'oialo (Aix en-Province), 14 Paul Perez (Eastern Province), 13 George Pisi (Northampton Saints), 12 Setaimata Sa (London Irish), 11 Robert Lilomaiava (Laulli), 10 Tusi Pisi (Suntory Sungoliath), 9 Jeremy Su'a (Tasman), 8 Taiasina Tuifua (Newcastle), 7 Fomai Tivaini (Hawke's Bay), 6 Ofisa Treviranus (London Irish), 5 Filo Paulo (North Harbour), 4 Fa'atiga Lemalu (Mont-de-Marsan), 3 Census Johnston (Toulouse), 2 Olé Avei (Bordeaux), 1 Sakaria Taulafo (London Wasps) (captain)
Replacements: 16 Ropeti Lafo (Vaiusu), 17 James Johnston (Harlequins), 18 Joe Tekori (Castres), 19 Alafoti Faosiliva (Bristol), 20 Kahn Fotuali'i (Ospreys), 21 Johnny Leota (Sale Sharks), 22 Fa'atoina Autagavaia (Northland)

Date: Friday, 9 November 2012
Kick-off: 20.15 (local time)
Venue: Parc Eirias, Colwyn Bay, Wales
Expected weather conditions: 90% chance of rain with a high of 12°C, dropping to 6 °C
Referee: Francisco Pastrana (Argentina)
Assessor: Bertie Smith (Ireland)