Hawke's Bay snatch Ranfurly Shield

Sun, 01 Sep 2013 14:10
Large hawke sbayranfurlyshield Large ihaiawesthawke sbay

Hawke's Bay edged Otago 20-19 on Sunday to clinch the Ranfurly Shield for the first time in 44 years.

New Zealand rugby's premier challenge trophy, the Ranfurly Shield, changed hands on Sunday for the second time this season - passed from a team that won it for the first time in 56 years then held it for only nine days to another that last claimed it in 1969.

Otago province ended decades of heartbreak when it took the Shield from Waikato on August 23, returning to their Dunedin headquarters for the first time since 1957.

But at their first defence, Otago lost 19-20 to Hawke's Bay on Sunday and allowed the team to begin their first Shield tenure in 44 years.

Hawke's Bay will now defend the Shield, which is played for only in the holder's home games, against Counties Manukau at Napier on Saturday.

All the weekend's scores and scorers:

Otago 19-20 Hawke’s Bay

The scorers:

For Otago:
Spence, Popoali'i
Pens: Parker 3

For Hawke's Bay:
Con: West
Pens: West 2

Wellington 42-15 Manawatu

The scorers:

For Wellington:
Filipo 2, J. Hill, Bateman, Fa'atau
Cons: Sopoaga 4
Pens: Sopoaga 3

For Manawatu:
Stirzaker 2
Con: George
Pens: George 2

Southland 14-15 Taranaki

The scorers:

For Southland:
Pens: Eade 2, McKenzie

For Taranaki:
Ormond, Tuifua
Con: Taylor
Pen: Taylor

North Harbour 33-33 Northland

The scorers:

For North Harbour:
Tuitavake, Pleasants-Tate, Parsons, Manihera
Cons: Rei, Elrick
Pens: Rei, Elrick 2

For Northland:
Caucaunibuca 2, Meltzer, Pryor
Cons: Seymour 2
Pens: Seymour 3

Auckland 32-17 Bay of Plenty

The scorers:

For Auckland:
Parkes, Moala, Fekitoa, Braid
Cons: Hickey 3
Pens: Hickey 2

For Bay of Plenty:
Pens: Ripia 4