Currie Cup clearer

Tue, 11 Mar 2014 12:31
Large currie cup trophy.2jpg Large currie cup trophy2

Fixtures for the new eight-team Currie Cup and qualifying competition have been released.

Fixtures for the new eight-team Currie Cup and qualifying competition have been released.

The qualifying competition, which will be contested by Griquas, the Leopards, SWD Eagles, Boland Cavaliers, Griffons, Border Bulldogs and Falcons, will kick off on the first weekend of June and run until 19 July, when the top team on the log will be granted entry into the Currie Cup.

The start of the eight-team Currie Cup - contested by the Sharks, Western Province, EP Kings, Free State Cheetahs, Golden Lions, Blue Bulls, Pumas and the winner of the qualifying competition - is scheduled for the weekend of 8/9 August, a week after the Super Rugby Final. It will run until the final weekend of October, when the final will take place.

The eight teams will be divided into two sections on 2013 log positions: Section X (Western Province, Golden Lions, Blue Bulls, EP Kings) and Section Y (Sharks, Free State, Pumas, Qualifier). The teams will play home and away within their sections followed by a single cross-conference round before semifinals and final.

The fixtures for the Currie Cup First Division, which kicks off in the last weekend of August and runs until the second week of October, will be finalised at the conclusion of the qualifying competition.

In 2015, the Currie Cup will consist of the six franchise teams plus two non-franchise teams, which will be determined as follows:

*If the two non-franchise teams finish seventh and eighth in the 2014 Currie Cup they will both play in a 2015 qualification round of eight teams.

*If one non-franchise team finishes in the top six of the 2014 Currie Cup they will automatically qualify for the 2015 Currie Cup. The other non-franchise team will play in a 2015 qualifying round of seven teams.

*If both non-franchise teams finish in the top six of the 2014 Currie Cup, they will automatically qualify for the 2015 tournament and there will be no qualifying tournament in 2015.

Currie Cup qualifying competition fixtures:
(home teams named first, final dates and kick-off times TBC):

Round One - 6/7 June
Leopards v SWD Eagles
Griffons v Boland Cavaliers
Griquas v Border Bulldogs
Bye: Falcons
Round Two - 13/14 June
SWD Eagles v Griffons
Boland Cavaliers v Griquas
Falcons v Leopards
Bye: Border Bulldogs

Round Three - 20/21 June
SWD Eagles v Falcons
Border Bulldogs v Boland Cavaliers
Griquas vs Leopards
Bye: Griffons

Round Four - 27/28 June
Boland Cavaliers v SWD Eagles
Griffons v Griquas
Falcons v Border
Bye: Leopards

Round Five - 4/5 July
Leopards v Griffons
Border Bulldogs v SWD Eagles
Falcons v Boland Cavaliers
Bye: Griquas

Round Six - 11/12 July
Boland Cavaliers v Leopards
Border Bulldogs v Griffons
Griquas v Falcons
Bye: SWD Eagles

Round Seven -  18/19 July
Leopards v Border Bulldogs
SWD Eagles v Griquas
Griffons v Falcons
Bye: Boland Cavaliers

Currie Cup fixtures:
(home teams named first, final dates and kick-off times TBC):

Round One - 8/9 August
Blue Bulls v Golden Lions
EP Kings v Western Province
Pumas v Free State Cheetahs
Qualifier v Sharks

Round Two - 15/16 August
Western Province v Blue Bulls
Golden Lions v EP Kings
Sharks v Pumas
Free State Cheetahs v Qualifier

Round Three - 22/23 August
Blue Bulls v EP Kings
Western Province v Golden Lions
Sharks v Free State Cheetahs
Pumas v Qualifier

Round Four - 29/30 August
Blue Bulls v Western Province
EP Kings v Golden Lions
Pumas v Sharks
Qualifier v Free State Cheetahs

Round Five - 5/6 September
Western Province v EP Kings
Golden Lions v Blue Bulls
Sharks v Qualifier
Free State Cheetahs v Pumas

Round Six - 12/13 September
Golden Lions v Western Province
EP Kings v Blue Bulls
Free State Cheetahs v Sharks
Griquas v Qualifier

Round Seven - 19/20 September
Blue Bulls v Sharks
Western Province v Qualifier
Golden Lions v Pumas
EP Kings v Free State Cheetahs

Round Eight - 26/27 September
Qualifier v Golden Lions
Sharks v EP Kings
Free State Cheetahs v Blue Bulls
Pumas v Western Province

Round Nine - 3/4 October
Qualifier v EP Kings
Sharks v Golden Lions
Free State Cheetahs v Western Province
Pumas v Blue Bulls

Round 10 - 10/11 October
Blue Bulls v Qualifier
Western Province v Sharks
Golden Lions v Free State Cheetahs
EP Kings v Pumas

Semifinals - 17/18 October

Final - Saturday, 25 October

There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 29 April 2017
Chiefs v Sunwolves 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Waratahs 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Force v Lions 11h55 Perth
Leicester Tigers v Sale Sharks 14h00 Welford Road
Ospreys v Ulster 14h00 Liberty Stadium
Saracens v Bristol 14h00 Allianz Park
Bath v Gloucester 14h00 Recreation Ground
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Cheetahs v Crusaders 15h15 Bloemfontein
Treviso v Munster 17h05 Stadio Monigo
Kings v Rebels 17h30 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Connacht v Scarlets 18h35 Sportsground
Jaguares v Blues 19h40 Buenos Aires
Sun, 30 April 2017
Brumbies v Blues 06h05 Canberra
Fri, 05 May 2017
Hurricanes v Stormers 07h35 Westpac Stadium
Cheetahs v Highlanders 17h00 Bloemfontein
Sat, 06 May 2017
Zebre v Treviso 22h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Ulster v Leinster 22h00 Kingspan Stadium
Scarlets v Ospreys 22h00 Parc y Scarlets
Munster v Connacht 22h00 Thomond Park
Northampton Saints v Harlequins 22h00 Franklin's Gardens
Worcester Warriors v Leicester Tigers 22h00 Sixways
Bristol v Newcastle Falcons 22h00 Ashton Gate
Sale Sharks v Bath 22h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Wasps v Saracens 22h00 Ricoh Arena
Gloucester v Exeter Chiefs 22h00 Kingsholm
Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh 22h00 Scotstoun Stadium
Dragons v Cardiff Blues 22h00 Rodney Parade
Team P W D L Pts
Free State Cheetahs 8 8 0 0 39
Blue Bulls 8 6 0 2 30
Western Province 8 5 0 3 27
Golden Lions 8 5 0 3 26
Sharks 8 5 0 3 25
Griquas 8 4 0 4 21
Boland 8 2 0 6 11
Pumas 8 1 0 7 10
EP Kings 8 0 0 8 1