London 'cherry on top' for NZ

Sun, 11 May 2014 11:45
Large nz celebrate 7s win

New Zealand sealed their 12th IRB Sevens World Series crown by winning the London title on Sunday.

New Zealand sealed their 12th IRB Sevens World Series crown by winning the London title on Sunday.

The Kiwis beat trans-Tasman rivals Australia 52-33 in the Final, thanks to 22 points from Gillies Kaka.- having earlier trailed 0-21.

By winning the ninth and final round of the 2013/14 World tour the New Zealanders had extra cause for celebration - having already secured the series title the day before.

It was not to the dream end for Australia, who were attempting to win the London leg for the first time since 2010, in what was coach Michael O'Connor's last tournament in charge.

* In the semifinals Scott Curry scored two tries as New Zealand booked their place in the final by beating Fiji 12-10, his second coming after the buzzer had sounded.

Cameron Clark also scored two tries in their Australia's 15-12 defeat of England.

The hosts went on to finish third by beating Fiji 26-19 thanks to tries from James Rodwell, Howard Packman, captain Tom Mitchell and Mat Turner.


Seabelo Senatla scored his 11th, 12th and 13th tries of the London leg to help South Africa win the Plate by beating Kenya 38-7 in the Final.

By doing so, Senatla is only the third player in the history of Sevens to score 13 or more tries in a tournament, and the first since the 2005 Paris tournament.

In the semifinals Kenya beat France 28-19, before Senatla completed a first hat-trick of the day in a 24-17 win for South Africa against Samoa - having trailed 0-17, a result which confirmed they would finish the season second overall behind New Zealand.


Twenty-one points Phil Mack helped Canada win the Bowl by beating Argentina 24-14 in the Final.

Geraint John's side ended an impressive season, in which they finished sixth in the overall Series, with eight more points for their Series tally.

Earlier, Sean Duke scored his 100th career try as Canada beat Wales 17-14 having earlier defeated Japan 21-19 thanks to two tries from John Moonlight.


Mike Palefau and Zack Test both scored two tries in the Final of the Shield, as the United States ended their season with a 36-12 over Japan.

Palefau had earlier also crossed for a brace as his side defeated Portugal 45-7 to set up a final against Japan after Kosuke Hashino crossed for the winning try against last week's Cup semifinalists Scotland in the Brave Blossoms' semifinal.

All the Day Two results:


Australia 33-52 New Zealand

Third-place play-off:
England 26-19 Fiji

New Zealand 12-10 Fiji
England 12-15 Australia

Samoa 10-26 Fiji
South Africa 5-32 New Zealand
Australia 12-5 Kenya
England 19-17 France


Kenya 14-38 South Africa

South Africa 24-17 Samoa
France 19-28 Kenya


Argentina 19-31 Canada

Wales 14-17 Canada
Argentina 21-14 Spain

Canada 21-19 Japan
Scotland 19-24 Wales
Spain 26-7 United States
Argentina 31-0 Portugal


United States 36-12 Japan

Scotland 19-26 Japan
Portugal 7-45 United States

There are currently no matches being played
Sun, 19 February 2017
Sale Sharks v Wasps 15h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Newcastle Falcons v Northampton Saints 15h00 Kingston Park
Mon, 20 February 2017
CUT-Ixias v Shimlas 14h45 Bloemfontein
UKZN-Impi v Fort Hare 16h30 Durban
TUT v WSU 16h30 Pretoria
NWU-Pukke v UCT-Ikeys 16h30 Potchefstroom
Maties v NMMU-Madibaz 16h30 Stellenbosch
UWC v Rhodes 16h30 Cape Town
UJ v UP-Tuks 17h00 Johannesburg
Thu, 23 February 2017
Rebels v Blues 08h45 Melbourne
Fri, 24 February 2017
Highlanders v Chiefs 06h35 Dunedin
Reds v Sharks 09h00 Brisbane
Harlequins v Leicester Tigers 17h45 Twickenham Stoop
Edinburgh v Cardiff Blues 19h05 Myreside
Dragons v Leinster 19h30 Rodney Parade
Munster v Scarlets 19h35 Thomond Park
Sat, 25 February 2017
Sunwolves v Hurricanes 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Brumbies 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Force 08h45 Allianz Park
Saracens v Sale Sharks 12h45 Allianz Park
Northampton Saints v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Franklin's Gardens
Exeter Chiefs v Newcastle Falcons 13h00 Sandy Park
Cheetahs v Lions 13h05 Bloemfontein
Scotland v Wales 14h25 BT Murrayfield
Kings v Jaguares 15h15 Port Elizabeth
Ireland v France 16h50 Aviva Stadium
Stormers v Bulls 17h30 Cape Town
Pool 00
Team P W D L Pts
Papua New Guinea 0 1 0 0 1
Pool 19
Team P W D L Pts
England Sevens 0 0 0 0 19
Pool 20
Team P W D L Pts
Uganda Sevens 0 0 0 0 2
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Fiji Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Scotland Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Canada Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Samoa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Australia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
France Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool C
Team P W D L Pts
United States Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Argentina Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Japan Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool D
Team P W D L Pts
South Africa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Russia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Team P W D L Pts
Wales Sevens