Saints snatch it from Sarries

Sat, 31 May 2014 16:49
Large saints

A last-gasp try from replacement Alex Waller in the second-half of extra time decided a match of the ages by 24-20

A last-gasp try from replacement Alex Waller in the second-half of extra time decided a match of the ages by 24-20 and handed Northampton Saints their first-ever Premiership title at the expense of Saracens.
Owen Farrell, who departed the game with an injury in the second half, made three of four penalties but fine tries from Ben Foden and George Pisi had Saints homing in on a landmark victory at Twickenham.
Sarries battled back in the last ten minutes through Marcelo Bosch but amazingly, replacement Charlie Hodgson's conversion bounced back off the upright to keep the score at 14-14.
It boiled down to extra time - an Premiership final first - but with the clock deep into the red and with Saracens up through a Hodgson penalty, Waller clinched a dramatic victory.
Referee JP Doyle needed to consult the TMO but after several replays, Waller was adjudged to have grounded the ball in front of the posts.
In the Saracens line-up, Richard Barrington slotted in at loosehead to replace the injured Mako Vunipola while Neil de Kock was given the nod over Richard Wigglesworth at scrum-half.
At No.9 for the Saints Kahn Fotuali'i was the preferred choice ahead of Lee Dickson, while Salesi Ma'afu returned to the fold following his one-game suspension.
The game started at breakneck speed as Marcelo Bosch's attempted clearance was charged down by a Northampton side hungry for success following their Twickenham disappointment to Leicester Tigers last year.
But it was Sarries' pack who struck first, as Saints were unable to cope with their rolling maul to give Owen Farrell a first shot on goal.
The England flyhalf was calmness personified in scoring the first three points of the game and bisected the posts with another penalty moments later after ill-discipline at the ruck.
He could not make it three out of three however - missing a long-range effort after Sam Dickinson strayed offside - and on the half-hour mark, the Saints burst to life.
Ken Pisi shook off three defenders to launch a break from almost try-line to try-line, a penalty eventually being called which Stephen Myler opted to kick into touch.
And the door was unlocked for Ben Foden to storm over the whitewash following a superb pass from Luther Burrell - while Myler was on hand to complete the conversion and edge Jim Mallinder's men ahead.
Saints withstood a barrage of Sarries pressure - including the immovable Courtney Lawes - to see out the half, but the pattern followed suit after the break.
Northampton were once again pinged in Farrell territory and he promptly restored a two-point advantage.
The hits continue to fly in, with Jacques Burger typically at the heart of things, before Matt Stevens left the field for the last time in a Saracens shirt as his  Premiership career came to an end.
Then on the hour-mark Saints turned the match on its head once more, as an inch-perfect grubber from Myler was chased down by Pisi who finished with aplomb.
Sarries nearly hit back almost immediately when Farrell found his way across, but after lengthy deliberation with the TMO, referee JP Doyle ruled a forward pass by Alex Goode in the build-up.
In further bad news for Sarries, Farrell was forced out of the game after sustaining an injury during his celebration.
Lawes welcomed replacement Charlie Hodgson into the game with a thundering hit and it took similar efforts from every Saint to hold Mark McCall's troops at bay.
But finally, after cycling through an umpteenth amount of phases, Sarries' concerted pressure paid off after Bosch found a gap in the right-hand corner to pummel through.
Hodgson's conversation could hardly have been nearer touch and his sterling effort missed by the width of the post.
With just one score needed to clinch the title neither side could find the breakthrough - culminating in the  Premiership final's first-ever extra time.
Ten minutes each way would decide the winner but Saints held the advantage - their two tries to one deciding the match should the scores have remained level.
Myler had not had a sighter from tee all day but showed poise to get off the mark, but Hodgson immediately tied things up with his first penalty after an infringement at the scrum.
Vunipola clearly still had the legs in the second half of extra time, forcing a penalty through a deliberate knockdown after breaking the Saints line.
That set up Hodgson to pound the ball through the posts from 25 metres out - and left Saracens with the task of holding firm for victory.
One almighty push from Northampton on the try-line was referred to the TMO and after several minutes of deliberation, referee Doyle signalled for the try as Saints fans went into raptures at Twickenham.
 The scorers:
For Saracens:
Try: Bosch
Pens: Farrell 3, Hodgson 2
For Northampton:
Tries: Foden, G Pisi, A Waller
Cons: Myler 3
Pen: Myler
Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 David Strettle, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Neil de Kock, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Jacques Burger, 6 Kelly Brown, 5 Mouritz Botha, 4 Steve Borthwick (captain), 3 Matt Stevens, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 Richard Barrington.
Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Rhys Gill, 18 James Johnston, 19 Alistair Hargreaves, 20 Jackson Wray, 21 Richard Wigglesworth, 22 Charlie Hodgson, 23 Chris Wyles.
Northampton: 15 Ben Foden, 14 Ken Pisi, 13 George Pisi, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 George North, 10 Stephen Myler, 9 Kahn Fotuali'i, 8 Sam Dickinson, 7 Tom Wood (captain), 6 Calum Clark, 5 Courtney Lawes, 4 Samu Manoa, 3 Salesi Ma'afu, 2 Mike Haywood, 1 Alex Corbisiero.
Replacements: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 Alex Waller, 18 Tom Mercey, 19 Christian Day, 20 Phil Dowson, 21 Lee Dickson, 22 James Wilson, 23 Tom Stephenson.
Referee: JP Doyle
Assistant Referees: Wayne Barnes, Paul Dix
TMO: Graham Hughes
There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 28 April 2017
Highlanders v Stormers 07h35 Dunedin
Cardiff Blues v Zebre 18h05 Cardiff
Edinburgh v Dragons 18h35 Myreside
Leinster v Glasgow Warriors 18h35 RDS Arena
Newcastle Falcons v Worcester Warriors 19h00 Kingston Park
Sat, 29 April 2017
Chiefs v Sunwolves 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Waratahs 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Force v Lions 11h55 Perth
Ospreys v Ulster 14h00 Liberty Stadium
Bath v Gloucester 14h00 Recreation Ground
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Saracens v Bristol 14h00 Allianz Park
Harlequins v Wasps 14h00 Twickenham Stoop
Leicester Tigers v Sale Sharks 14h00 Welford Road
Cheetahs v Crusaders 15h15 Bloemfontein
Treviso v Munster 17h05 Stadio Monigo
Kings v Rebels 17h30 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Connacht v Scarlets 18h35 Sportsground
Jaguares v Sharks 19h40 Buenos Aires
Sun, 30 April 2017
Brumbies v Blues 06h05 Canberra
Sun, 23 April 2017
Clermont Auvergne v Leinster 27 | 22
Sat, 22 April 2017
Sharks v Rebels 9 | 9
Bulls v Cheetahs 20 | 14
Munster v Saracens 10 | 26
Force v Chiefs 7 | 16
Crusaders v Stormers 57 | 24
Highlanders v Sunwolves 40 | 15
Fri, 21 April 2017
Lions v Jaguares 24 | 21
Waratahs v Kings 24 | 26
Hurricanes v Brumbies 56 | 21
Mon, 17 April 2017
UP-Tuks v Maties 28 | 21
Sun, 16 April 2017
Bristol v Wasps 21 | 36
Northampton Saints v Saracens 25 | 27
Sat, 15 April 2017
Connacht v Leinster 24 | 37
Treviso v Edinburgh 21 | 6
Team P W D L Pts
Wasps 20 16 1 3 79
Exeter Chiefs 20 13 3 4 74
Saracens 20 15 1 4 72
Leicester Tigers 20 12 0 8 57
Bath 20 11 0 9 53
Northampton Saints 20 9 0 11 48
Harlequins 20 10 0 10 47
Gloucester 20 7 2 11 46
Newcastle Falcons 20 8 0 12 40
Sale Sharks 20 6 1 13 36
Worcester Warriors 20 5 2 13 31
Bristol 20 3 0 17 19