Nine Bulls in SA Schools team

Thu, 31 Jul 2014 11:34
Large griffons epcd.jpg630

The South African Rugby Union announced the SA Schools squad of 28 players for the forthcoming Under-18 International series.

The South African Rugby Union announced an SA Schools squad of 28 players for the forthcoming Under-18 International series against France, Wales and England, from August 10 to 24.

The squad was selected following a successful trial match held on Saturday at the Barnard Stadium in Kempton Park, after the conclusion of the Youth Weeks.

Nine players from the Blue Bulls were selected in the squad, Eastern Province have four representatives while three players each from KwaZulu-Natal and South Western Districts were selected.

There are two from Free State and one each from Border, Griffons, Griquas Country Districts, Leopards, Pumas, Falcons and Western Province.

Hein Kriek of Paul Roos, who coached the Western Province team at the Under-18 Craven Week in Middelburg, will coach the SA Schools team.

The SA Schools team have remained unbeaten in their international matches over the past four years.

Their first match is against France at the City Park Stadium in Cape Town on August 15, followed by Wales at Outeniqua Park in George on August 19, and England at the Paul Roos Markötter grounds in Stellenbosch on August 23.

SARU CEO Jurie Roux congratulated the squad on their selection and explained that the Youth Weeks Programme as well as the SA Schools itinerary falls in line with SARU’s strategic objective of providing platforms for our country’s top Under-18 players, so that they are  able test their skills against the best local and international opposition.

Roux said: “From here on, there will be hands-on coaching, management, programmes of intervention and monitoring of this group of players by our Springbok and Junior Springbok [SA Under-20] management teams as well as the SARU Mobi Unit.

“Over the years we have seen many players graduate from the Youth Weeks to the SA Schools team and then to our provincial unions and our various national teams such as the Springbok Sevens, the Junior Springboks and ultimately the Springboks.

"This pathway is one of the core objectives of our Development and High Performance Departments.”

The SA Schools squad and management will assemble in Cape Town on August 10 in preparation for the three Under-18 internationals.

SA Schools squad

Morné Joubert (Glenwood & KwaZulu-Natal), Eduan Keyter (Affies & Blue Bulls), Keanu Vers (Grey & Eastern Province).

Wings: Nazo Nkala (Welkom Gimnasium & Griffons), Jerry Danquah (Queen's College & Border), Andell Loubsher (Menlopark & Blue Bulls).

Centres: Barend Smit (HTS Middelburg & Pumas), JT Jackson (Oakdale & South Western Districts).

Flyhalves: Curwin Bosch (Grey & Eastern Province), Thinus de Beer (Waterkloof & Blue Bulls).

Scrumhalves: Marko Janse van Vuuren (Transvalia & Falcons), Embrose Papier (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls).

Loose forwards: Jaco Coetzee (Glenwood & KwaZulu-Natal), Junior Pokomela (Grey & Eastern Province), Edmund Rheeder (Klerksdorp & Leopards), Cobus Wiese (Upington & Griquas Country Districts), Victor Maruping (Louis Botha & Free State), Arnold Gerber (Menlopark & Blue Bulls).

Locks: Eduard Zandberg (Outeniqua & South Western Districts), Jaco Willemse (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), Ashton Fortuin (Southdown College & Blue Bulls).

Hookers: Jan-Henning Campher (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Le Roux Baard (Outeniqua & South Western Districts).

Props: Ignatius Prinsloo (Grey College & Free State), Sarel-Marco Smit (Eldoraigne & Blue Bulls), Ngonidzashe Chidoma (Northwood & KwaZulu-Natal), Michael Kumbirai (St Alban's College & Blue Bulls), Lupumlo Mguca (Daniël Pienaar & Eastern Province).

Coach: Hein Kriek (Paul Roos & Western Province)

SA Schools schedule:
August 15: v France at City Park, Cape Town
August 19: v Wales at  Outeniqua Park, George
August 23: SA v England at Markötter Stadium, Stellenbosch