Klofies go to Monnas

Thu, 10 May 2018 14:16
Large 2501 0 0 0 2594392

Hoërskool Monument of Krugersdorp play host to Hoërskool Waterkloof of Pretoria, two strong South African schools.

It is a Premier Interschools match.

Both are schools willing to take on anybody else, though this year Klofies have found the going a bit tough.

Season So Far

Monnas have played 13 matches, losing two and drawing one. The two they lost to are Paarl Gim, and Grey College, two teams near the top of the Top 20 rankings, Grey second and Gimmies third, In addition they had a draw with the rampant Transvalia side from Vanderbijl Park. Monnas have beaten Boland Landbou, Garsfontein and Menlopark, three Top 20 ranked teams.

Waterkloof have played eight matches and won two, but they played top schools. They beat Durbanville and Montana, and lost to Helpmekaar, Transvalia, Grey College, Paarl Gim, Paarl Boys' High and Paul Roos. 

At present Monument are ranked fifth on the Top 20, Waterkloof unranked. After playing Monnas, Klofies will halved played the five teams ranked 1 to 5.

Results Against Common Opponents

Transvalia: Monument drew 31-31; Waterkloof lost 30-25
Grey College: Monument lost 36-21; Waterkloof lost 60-15
Paarl Gim: Monument lost 34-31; Waterkloof lost 57-20


Monument's players qualify for selection for Golden Lions teams, Waterkloof for Blue Bulls teams. These are players who have played for their provinces and are in this Saturday's teams.

Craven Week
Morné Brandon, Stephan le Roux

Academy Week
Tristan Dullisear, 

Grant Khomo Week
Theuns Pretorius


Monument: 15 Dean Lategan, 14 Ruben Barnard, 13 Henco van Wyk, 12 Douw Scheepers, 11 Kagiso Nyamande, 10 Byron-Lee Wentink, 9 Zihan Coetzee, 8 Izan Esterhuizen, 7 Franco Schutte, 6 Tristan Dullisear, 5 Zander Oberholster, 4 Stephan le Roux, 3 Ruben Westraad, 2 Morné Brandon, 1 Brendan Pawson
Replacements: 16 Albert van den Berg, 17 Tumi Mononyane, 18 Dehan Niemand, 19 Hendré Fourie, 20 Corné Pennals, 21 Aiden Robberts, 22 Wian van der Walt, 23 Richard Jooste

Waterkloof: 15 Séan Grobler, 14 Julian Bogner, 13 Brendon Katzke, 12 Theunis Pretorius, 11 Boipelo Kgatlhanye, 10 Ian Trollip, 9 Divan Roelofse, 8 Wikus Lindeque, 7 Juandré Jooste, 6 Eckard Boshoff, 5 Richard van den Berg, 4 Armand Fleidl, 3 John Cory, 2 Renaldo Kuppen, 1 Jason Hattingh 
Replacements: 16 Stefan Botha, 17 Franco Groenewald, 18 Aiden Viljoen, 19 Henco Swanepoel, 20 AJ Smit, 21 Devin Pfaff, 22 Norman Trahms, 23 Polla Melamed, 24 Tristan Nel

Date: Saturday, 12 May 2018
1st XV kick-off: 14.00
Television broadcast: SuperSport channel 205
Expected weather conditions: Partly cloudy with a high of 19°C and a low of 7°C

Programme for Saturday, 12 May 2018

Ras van Rooyen Field
08.30: Under-14A
09.30: Under-15A
10.30: 3rd XV
11.30: Under-16A
12.45: 2nd XV
14.00: 1st XV

08.00: Under-16B
09.00: 4th XV
10.00: Under-14B
11.00: Under-15B

08.00: Under-15C
09.00: Under-14C
10.00: 5th XV
11.00: Under-16C

Some Previous Results

Monnas and Klofies first played in 1996 and it has not happened every year since then, but it would be good to fill in gaps in this summary.

1996: Waterkloof won 24-15
2002: Waterkloof won 18-17
2003: Monument won 19-16
2005: Monument won 30-17
2007: Waterkloof won 35-17
2009: Monument won 32-20
2010: Waterkloof won 14-3
2010: Monument won 26-25
2011: Monument won 30-18
2012: Waterkloof won 21-19
2016: Monument won 37-7
2017: Monument won 20-17