B&I Lions miss England cut

Fri, 22 Sep 2017 08:56
Large eddie jones with england team huddle 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: England coach Eddie Jones has opted not to include British and Irish Lions players in his 33-man squad for the training camp in Oxford.

The four high-profile omissions are James Haskell - who was recently involved in an ugly scuffle with Harlequins prop Joe Marler during the Premiership match, George Kruis, Kyle Sinckler and Jonathan Joseph.

Jones has also opted not to call-up try-scoring machine Denny Solomona.

The Sale Sharks wing Solomona - along with Manu Tuilagi, now injured - was sent home from England training camp in August, reportedly for being drunk.

Jones included two uncapped players namely the Bath hooker Tom Dunn and Harlequins flyhalf Marcus Smith.

Despite the obvious absence of some key players, the England mentor included familiar faces in the set-up in the pursuit of consistency.  

The players will convene in Oxford on Sunday, September 24 for the three-day camp.

The camp will provide a chance for the squad to continue their preparations for the upcoming Test Series that will see England play Argentina, (November 11), Australia ( November 18) and Samoa (November 25).

"This camp in Oxford is a really positive opportunity for the group to come back together and sharpen our focus and preparation ahead of our first match against Argentina," Jones said.

"This is our most important game this year and we want the players to come away from camp having trained well with a clear plan of how we want to play and win against the Pumas,"

England training squad for Oxford camp:

Forwards: Dan Cole, Tom Curry, Tom Dunn, Charlie Ewels, Ellis Genge, Jamie George, Dylan Hartley, Nathan Hughes, Nick Isiekwe, Maro Itoje, Joe Launchbury, Courtney Lawes, Joe Marler, Chris Robshaw, Sam Underhill, Harry Williams, Billy Vunipola, Mako Vunipola

Backs: Mike Brown, Danny Care, Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell, George Ford, Piers Francis, Alex Lozowski, Jonny May, Jack Nowell, Henry Slade, Marcus Smith, Ben Te’o, Anthony Watson, Marland Yarde, Ben Youngs