Under-20 Six Nations, Round 4

Fri, 10 Mar 2017 10:48
Large england u20 joe merchant 80

England are sitting at the top of the log play Scotland who are at the bottom.

It seems probable that England will beat Scotland and highly likely that they will get a bonus point in doing so, and that will put them in a strong position to win the trophy. If in addition Wales beat Ireland, England will be assured of the trophy with only the Grand Slam and Triple Crown to add to their lustre.


Round 1
Ireland vs Scotland, 20-19
England vs France, 59-17
Wales vs Italy, 27-5

Round 2
Ireland vs Italy, 27-26
England vs Wales, 37-21
France vs Scotland, 36-8
Ireland vs France

Round 3
England vs Italy, 46-0
Ireland vs France, 27-22
Wales vs Scotland, 65-34

Log after Three Rounds

Bonus points are making a difference all right. England have one from each of their matches, Ireland have none.

1. England - 15 pts
2. Ireland - 12 pts
3. Wales - 9 pts
4. France - 6 pts
5. Italy - 1 pt
6. Scotland - 1 pt

France vs Italy

France, beaten by Ireland in Round 3, have made six changes for Italy on Friday. Thomas Lièvremont has changed the centres and the scrumhalf. There are also three changes to the pack - flank, where Killian Geraci comes in, hooker and loosehead.

Italy, in a battle to avoid the wooden spoon have really only one change to the starting 15 in which Nardo Casolari comes off the bench and into flank while Lorenzo Masselli moves from flank to lock.


Italy: 15 Massimo Cioffi (Lazio), 14 Andrea Bronzini (Viadana), 13 Ludovico Vaccari (Capitolina), 12 Marco Zanon (Mogliano) (captain), 11 Giovanni D'Onofrio (Benevento), 10 Antonio Rizzi (Mogliano), 9 Charly Trussardi (Clermont Auvergne), 8 Giovanni Licata (Miraglia), 7 Nardo Casolari (Lazio), 6 Jacopo Bianchi (Vasari Arezzo), 5 Gabriele Venditti (Lazio), 4 Lorenzo Masselli (Lyons), 3 Giosuè Zilocchi (Lyons), 2 Massimo Ceciliani (Delebio), 1 Daniele Rimpelli (Calvisano)
Replacements: 16 Alberto Rollero (Lyons), 17 Danilo Fischetti (Capitolina), 18 Marco Riccioni (Calvisano), 19 Niccolò Cannone (Florentia), 20 Michele Lamaro (Lazio), 21 Matteomaria Panunzi (Capitolina), 22 Michelangelo Biondelli (Rovigo), 23 Roberto dal Zilio (Calvisano)

France:  15 Romain Buros (Pau), 14 Faraj Fartass (Stade Français), 13 Théo Millet (Stade Français), 12 Alexandre Arrate (Biarritz Olympique), 11 William Iraguha (Massy Essonne), 10 Romain Ntamack (Toulouse), 9 Baptiste Couilloud (Lyon), 8 Alexandre Roumat (Biarritz), 7 Dylan Cretin (Lyon), 6 Killian Geraci (Grenoble), 5 Mickaël Capelli (Grenoble), 4 Florian Verhaeghe (Toulouse) (captain), 3 Thomas Laclayat (Oyonnax), 2 Florian Dufour (Agen), 1 Ugo Boniface (Aviron Bayonnais)
Replacements: 16 Léo Aouf (La Rochelle), 17 Etienne Fourcade (Grenoble), 18 George-Henri Colombe (Racing), 19 Alban Requet (Union Bordeaux-Bègles), 20 Cameron Woki (Massy Essonne), 21  Jérémy Valençot (Grenoble), 22 Pierre-Louis Barassi (Lyon), 23 Geoffrey Cros Union Bordeaux-Bègles)

Date: Friday, 10 March 2017
Kick-off: 14.55
Venue: Capoterra
Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Finlay Brown (Scotland), Ross Mabon (Scotland)
Television match official: Charles Samson (Scotland)

England vs Scotland

Scotland have made seven changes as Sean Lineen seeks to get his side off the bottom of the log, something highly unlikely in Round 4. England, too, have made seven changes as they rush to victory.

Will Butler, Joe Cokanasiga, Curtis Langdon, Max Malins, Jack Nay and Harry Randall all return to England's starting XV and prop Ralph Adams-Hale comes back from injury.

Scotland have brought Robbie Nairn onto the wing, and changed the centres and the scrumhalf. In the pack, George Thornton is on the loosehead and Matt Fagerson and Bruce Flockhart in at loose forward while Alex Craig moves to lock.


England: 15 Tom Parton (London Irish), 14 Joe Cokanasiga (London Irish), 13 Dominic Morris (Saracens), 12 Will Butler (Worcester Warriors), 11 Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins), 10 Max Malins (Saracens), 9 Harry Randall (Gloucester), 8 Zach Mercer (Bath) (captain), 7 Ben Curry (Sale Sharks), 6 Jack Nay (Saracens), 5 Max Davies (Newcastle Falcons), 4 Josh Caulfield (Exeter Chiefs), 3 Ciaran Knight (Gloucester),  2 Curtis Langdon (Sale Sharks), 1 Ollie Dawe (Bristol)
Replacements: 16 Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons), 17 Ralph Adams-Hale (Saracens), 18 Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs), 19 Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors), 20 Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby), 21 Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints), 22 Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish), 23 Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie)

Scotland: 15 Stafford McDowall (Ayr), 14 Robbie Nairn (Harlequins), 13 Ali Greig (Bristol University), 12 Cameron Hutchison (Currie), 11 Darcy Graham (Hawick), 10 Josh Henderson (Glasgow Hawks), 9 ,Andrew Simmers (Heriot’s) 8 Tom Dodd (Worcester Warriors), 7 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Hawks), 6 Bruce Flockhart (Glasgow Hawks), 5 Callum Hunter-Hill (Stirling County) (captain), 4 Alex Craig (Gloucester), 3 Adam Nicol (Stirling County), 2 Fraser Renwick (Hawick), 1 George Thornton (Bishop Burton College)
Replacements: 16 Robbie Smith (Ayr), 17 Daniel Winning (Boroughmuir), 18 Fergus Bradbury (Stirling County), 19 Hamish Bain (Currie), 20 Jamie Ure (Boroughmuir), 21 Luke Crosbie (Currie), 22 Charlie Shiel (Currie), 23 Craig Pringle (Stirling County)

Date: Saturday, 11 March 2017
Kick-off: 18.15
Venue: Franklin’s Gardens, Northampton
Referee: Craig Evans (Wales)
Assistant referees: Sean Brickell (Wales), Stuart Kibble (Wales)
Television match official: Jon Mason (Wales)
Timekeeper: Clive Leeke (England)
Assessor: Bertie Smith (Ireland)

Wales vs Ireland

After their expansive win over Scotland, Wales have changed just one player in their team. Flank  Shane Lewis-Hughes, one of the champion team last year, plays his first match this year and is in the starting team.

For Ireland Jack Kelly is back from injury and in the centre.


Wales: 15 Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues), 14 Corey Baldwin (Scarlets), 13 Cameron Lewis (Cardiff Blues), 12 Kieran Williams (Ospreys), 11 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), 10 Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues), 9 Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues), 8 Aled Ward (Cardiff Blues), 7 Will Jones (Ospreys) (captain), 6 Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues), 5 Alex Dombrandt (Cardiff Met), 4 Sean Moore (Pontypridd), 3 Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Blues), 2 Corrie Tarrant (Cardiff Blues), 1 Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues)
Replacements: 16 Owen Hughes (Newport Gwent Dragons), 17 Steff Thomas (Scarlets), 18 Chris Coleman (Newport Gwent Dragons), 19 Jack Pope (Bridgend), 20 James Botham (Cardiff Blues), 21 Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys), 22 Phil Jones (Ospreys), 23 Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets)

Ireland: 15 Jordan Larmour (St Mary's), 14 Tommy O'Brien (UCD), 13 Jack Kelly (Dublin University), 12 Ciaran Frawley (UCD), 11 Calvin Nash (Young Munster) (captain), 10 Bill Johnston (Garryowen), 9 Jonny Stewart (Queen's University), 8 Caelan Doris (St Mary's), 7 Paul Boyle (Lansdowne), 6 Gavin Coombes (Young Munster), 5 Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne), 4 Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster), 3 Charlie Connolly (Dublin University), 2 Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne), 1 Joey Conway (UL Bohemians)
Replacements: 16 Ronan Kelleher (UCD), 17 Greg McGrath (Lansdowne), 18 Matthew Burke (Corinthians), 19 Jack Regan (UCD), 20 Marcus Rea (Queen's University), 21 Jack Stafford (Shannon)22 Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon), 23 Colm Hogan (Dublin University)

Date: Saturday, 11 March 2017
Kick-off: 18.30
Venue: Eirias Park, Colwyn Bay
Referee: Christophe Ridley (England)
Assistant referees: Anthony Woodthorpe (England), Paul Burton (England)
Television match official: David Sainsbury (England)
Assessor: Eric Darriere (France)