WRWC: Finalists decided

Wed, 23 Aug 2017 14:43
Large france v england women 800

On the fourth day of the Women's World Cup, the finalists for Saturday were decided - New Zealand and England.

It was the final expected at the very start if the tournament which is being played in Ireland.

In the semifinals, played in Belfast, New Zealand beat the USA 45-12 as American intensity gradually fell away and England beat France 20-3.

There were two rematches. In the pool matches Canada had beaten Wales 15-0 but this time it was 52-0. In the pool matches Ireland had beaten Australia 15-7 but this time the Wallaroos turned the tables, winning 36-24.

Finishing in the top seven is important as it means automatic qualification for the 2021 tournament.

Results on Semifinal Day

for 9th Place
Italy vs Japan, 22-0
Spain vs Hong Kong, 31-7

For 5th Place
Australia vs Ireland, 36-24
Canada vs Wales, 52-0

New Zealand vs USA, 
England vs France, 20-3

Fixtures for Final Day, Saturday, 26 August

For 11th Place
Japan vs Hong Kong

For 9th Place
Italy vs Spain

For 7th Place
Ireland vs Wales

For 5th Place
Australia vs Canada

For 3rd Place
USA vs France

New Zealand vs England

England and New Zealand have met three times before in Women's Rugby World Cup Finals, the Black Ferns winning each time.

Previous Cup Winners

The first Women's World Cup to have the International Rugby Board's approval was that of 1998, but we have included the first two, one in Wales, the other in Scotland.

1991: Wales
1994: England
1998: New Zealand
2002: New Zealand
2006: New Zealand
2010: New Zealand
2014: England