Lions raid their neighbours

Sun, 04 Dec 2016 13:44
Large arno van wyk blue bulls 800

NEWS: The Lions' on-field success and attractive game are among the key reasons why you players are flocking to Ellis Park.

The Golden Lions Rugby Union this past week unveiled a group of 26 junior players, who were all handed contracts for the 2017 season.

Included in the group are eight players who played for the South African Schools team and another seven who featured in the SA Schools A team (back-up squad or B-team).

However, the most significant fact is the number of players from other unions who moved to Johannesburg.

There are nine players that have been snapped up from the Blue Bulls junior teams and three players have made the switch from the Western Province junior teams to play for the Golden Lions junior side.

Inside centre Mayibongwe Maduna is the only player from the Sharks academy/junior team who has signed with the Golden Lions for 2017, while Dian Schoonees signed from the Free State Cheetahs junior team.

There is plenty to look forward to for Golden Lions supporters with the likes of SA Schools A-team captain Louretz van der Schyff, the top try scorer in the 2016 Under-19 interprovincial competition Michael Madosha and SA Schools hooker Pieter Botha all signing with the Golden Lions for 2017.

Boland and the South Western Districts Eagles have two former age group players who will be joining the Lions junior team in 2017, while there are nine players from the Golden Lions junior team who have been rewarded for their consistent performances throughout the 2016 season and have been rewarded with a contract going into 2017.

Golden Lions junior squad for 2017: Arno van Wyk (Blue Bulls/Affies), Austin Davids (Blue Bulls/Garsfontein), Cohen Kietwet (Boland/Hugenote), Chris Havenga (Golden Lions/Monument), Darryle Kameel (SWD/Outeniqua), Dian Schoonees (Free State/Grey College), Gianni Lombard (WP/Paarl Boys), Hacjivah Dyamani (Golden Lions/Jeppe), Jack Hart (Blue Bulls/Affies), Kanye Ncusane (WP/Paarl Boys), Kayden Kiewet (Boland/Hugenote), Lincoln Daniels (Blue Bulls/Garsfontein), Louretz van der Schyff (Blue Bulls/Affies), Mannie Rass (WP/Paarl Boys), Michael Madosha (Lions/St John's), MJ Pelser (Golden Lions/Monnas), Nathan MacBeth (Golden Lions/Monnas), Phillip Krause (Blue Bulls/Affies), PJ Botha (Golden Lions/Monnas), PJ Steenkamp (Blue Bulls/Garsies), Rheyno Potgieter (Golden Lions/Monnas), Ruan Vermaak (Golden Lions/Monnas), Mayibongwe 'Seun' Maduna (Sharks/Glenwood), Sean Williams (Blue Bulls/Garsies), Tatendaise Mujawo (Golden Lions/St Benedict's), Tiaan van der Merwe (Lions/Helpmekaar), Tyrone Green (Golden Lions/Jeppe), Wandisile Simalane (Golden Lions/Jeppe).