SA U17 Sevens Training Squad

Wed, 11 Oct 2017 13:40
Large sa sevens u17.j 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: A South African Rugby Sevens Academy Under-17 squad of 25 players was selected after the recent Interprovincial Sevens tournament in Kimberley.

After a camp at Stellenbosch on 23-30 October the squad will play in the Assupol Sevens, to be held at the Markötter Fields in Stellenbosch on 29 and 30 October.

The squad of 25 players will break into two teams for the Sevens in which teams from Argentina and Namibia will also be playing.

Western Province, who were crowned champions in Kimberley, have seven representatives in the squad and the Golden Lions and Kwa-Zulu Natal three each.
Marius Schoolman, SA Rugby Sevens Academy Manager said: “This is an important camp for us.
"We have identified the players who impressed us in Kimberley and now have an ideal opportunity to work with them in camp. It is important for us to equip these players, talented as they are, with the necessary skills and tools to compete at the highest level. 
“Sevens has become a specialised code and has specific skills in crucial areas, something we need to work on with these boys. We have established the Academy as a good pathway for our best young players into the senior Springbok Sevens side and a lot of these players have the potential to become Blitzboks in the coming years. 
“That is why it is important for us to improve the areas where they are lacking and to expose them to the demands and mindset of sevens rugby. At the culmination of the camp, we will also play some competitive teams in the Assupol Sevens and that will also provide us with the opportunity to measure our progress.”
Invited Players

Diego Appollis (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls) 
Campwill Willemse (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls)
Ofentse Maubane (Ben Vorster, Limpopo) 
Ethinique Adams (Worcester Gim, Boland) 
Christie Grobbelaar (Drostdy, Boland) 
Avuyile Mabece (Hudson Park, Border) 
Ross Braude (Grey College, Free State) 
Ian Small-Smith (Grey College, Free State)
Kobus Hattingh (Wilgerivier, Griffons)
Siyanda Cele (Glenwood, Kwa-Zulu Natal) 
Dylan Pretorius (Glenwood, Kwa-Zulu Natal) 
Celempilo Gumede (DHS, Kwa-Zulu Natal) 
Anelka Barends (Potchefstroom Gimnasium, Leopards) 
Gutav Erlank (Potchefstroom Volkskool, Leopards) 
Muzilikazi Manyike (Jeppe, Golden Lions) 
Franco Schutte (Monument, Golden Lions) 
Santino Swanepoel (Florida, Golden Lions) 
Stefan Smit (Nelspruit, Pumas) 
Xavier Adams (Bellville, Western Province) 
Stavino Jacobs (Klein Nederburg, Western Province) 
Tiaan Pretorius (Paul Roos, Western Province)
Eugene Snyders (Boland Landbou, Western Province) 
Albertus Horn (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province) 
David Kellerman (Paarl Gim, Western Province) 
William Rose (Bishops, Western Province).
From SARU Communications