SA Schools contenders

Fri, 15 Jul 2016 13:25
Large simelane chills 800

IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Now that the Under-18 Craven Week is drawing to a close and all attention shifts to the selection of the SA Schools side, rugby365 have come up with a number of players who we feel will be in the squad.

Let it be known that in no way have we taken the "transformation" policies into account as every single player we have selected has been chosen out of merit and nothing else. Each of the players below have earned their way into our selection.

Of the 54 players we have identified, 12 places belong to Western Province while the Blue Bulls (eight), Golden Lions (eight) and KwaZulu Natal (seven) make up the majority of the squad.

Free State are represented by five players while Eastern Province take up four spots. South Western Districts, Griquas, the Pumas, the Falcons and EP Country Districts make up the remaining numbers.

Rugby365's SA Schools squad:

Fullbacks: Gianni Lombard (WP), Abner van Reenan (BB), Riaan van Rensburg (EP), Darren Adonis (SWD)

Wings: Mike Mavovana (WP), Muller du Plessis (WP), Cameron Hufke (Griquas), Sihle Njezula (EP), Tatendaishe Mujawo (GL)

Centres: Wandisile Simelane (GL), Sicelo Tole (EP), Louritz van der Schyff (BB), Rikus Pretorius (FS), Janco van Heyningen (FS), Emanuel Rass (WP), Marthinus Holtzhausen (KZN), Dean Ackerman (Griquas)

Flyhalves: Damian Willemse (WP), Tyrone Green (GL), Xavier Swartbooi (SWD), Vaughen Isaacs (EP CD), Ruan de Swardt (BB)

Scrumhalves: Sibonakaliso Dubazane (KZN), Zinedine Booysen (SWD), Deon Carstens (WP), Tinus Combrinck (GL)

Loose forwards: Khanya Ncusane (WP), Phendulani Buthelezi (KZN), Regardt du Plessis (BB), JC Pretorius (Pumas), Muller Uys (WP), Mark Snyman (GL), Juan Venter (FS), Kwezi Mafu (EP), Phillip Krause (BB), James Miller (KZN)

Locks: Salmaan Moerat (WP), Jaco van Tonder (FS), Henk Pretorius (BB), Ruan Vermaak (GL), PJ Steenkamp (BB), JJ van der Mescht (KZN)

Hookers: Dylan Richardson (KZN), Liam Larkan (WP), Ruben Cross (Pumas), PJ Botha (GL)

Props: Gideon Beukes (FS), Nathan McBeth (GL), Cabous Eloff (BB), Andre Booysen (WP), Johan Neethling (WP), Dewald Maritz (Pumas), André van der Merwe (Falcons), Gugu Nelani (KZN)