Death knell of the Currie Cup

Thu, 07 Dec 2017 06:26
Large currie cup trophy with team logos 800

NEWS: Is the South African Rugby Union set to reduce the Currie Cup to junk status?

One of the most revered competitions in the world, South Africa's premier domestic championship is set for a shocking change.

Steeped in history and tradition, the Currie Cup dates back to 1891.

It was, until recently, regarded as the cornerstone of South Africa's rugby heritage and the coveted gold trophy was the most prestigious prize in domestic rugby anywhere in the world.

However, the proposed - and reportedly the preferred - format that will be decided on at a SARU council meeting on Friday will rock the game to its core.

rugby365 has it on good authority that the final nail in the demise of the already badly adulterated Currie Cup will be hammered in on Friday - the result of narrow provincial interests.

The 2018 version of the competition will be reduced to a shortened, single-round format with seven teams in the Premier Division.

After the 2017 version (a seven-team double round) was spoiled by overlapping with the Super Rugby play-offs, it became very entertaining in the latter rounds - especially the play-offs - when a sprinkling of Springboks returned to the competition.

Sadly, the proposed (preferred) version that is on the cards for 2018 will be a smaller competition than the Varsity Cup.

Teams will only play three home games the entire season - which will have an effect on the offering to the public and season ticket holders.

Once the bedrock of South African rugby and continuing to provide a pathway for Springboks, will become nothing more than a tack-on in the domestic season.

It appears to be an unwanted 'necessity', rather than the valuable asset it can still be.

It appears the narrow interests of a few provincial unions.

Top of this list is the Cheetahs, who are miffed at their chances of winning the competition being eroded due to their Pro14 participation.

There are also the minnows - the Pumas and Griquas - who through gerrymandering maintain their Premier Division status.

Arguably the best format is a six-team competition, played over a double round - with a proper promotion-relegation system to afford any of the First Division teams a fair chance to return to the top flight.

Should the seven-team single-round format be pushed through on Friday, it could be the tragic end of one of the game's most revered competitions.


There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 21 April 2018
Crusaders v Sunwolves 07h35 Christchurch
Reds v Chiefs 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Rebels 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Leinster v Scarlets 14h30 Dublin
Sharks v Stormers 15h15 Durban
Zebre v Ospreys 16h45 Parma
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 17h05 Kingspan Stadium
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 18h05 Kingspan Stadium
Sun, 22 April 2018
Brumbies v Jaguares 06h05 Canberra
Racing Metro v Munster 14h15 Paris
Fri, 27 April 2018
Connacht v Leinster 22h00 Sportsground
Munster v Ulster 22h00 Thomond Park
Worcester Warriors v Harlequins 22h00 Sixways
Wasps v Northampton Saints 22h00 Ricoh Arena
London Irish v Saracens 22h00 Madejski Stadium
Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons 22h00 Welford Road
Gloucester v Bath 22h00 Kingsholm
Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks 22h00 Sandy Park
Kings v Cheetahs 22h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Treviso v Zebre 22h00 Stadio Monigo
Dragons v Scarlets 22h00 Rodney Parade
Edinburgh v Glasgow Warriors 22h00 Myreside
Cardiff Blues v Ospreys 22h00 Cardiff Arms Park
Hurricanes v Sunwolves 07h35 Wellington
Stormers v Rebels 13h00 Newlands
Sat, 28 April 2018
Reds v Lions 05h05 Suncorp Stadium
Team P W D L Pts
Sharks 12 10 0 2 47
Western Province 12 7 0 5 37
Golden Lions 12 6 0 6 35
Blue Bulls 12 5 0 7 32
Free State Cheetahs 12 6 0 6 31
Pumas 12 4 0 8 27
Griquas 12 4 0 8 26