Afoa gets a slap on the wrist

Wed, 08 Mar 2017 12:50
Large john afoa gloucester runs 800

NEWS: Gloucester's John Afoa has been hit with a one-week suspension after being found guilty of a dangerous tackle in his match against Harlequins on March 4.

Afoa was charged for contravening law Law 10.4(e) and pled guilty to the charge. He will be free to play on Monday, March 27.
    
The prop dangerously tackled Tim Swiel of Harlequins in the first half and was subsequently cited.

"The panel accepted the evidence from Harlequins that there was no contact to the head of their player and as such the panel was not mandated to find this a mid-range offence. Given this was a reckless tackle causing no injury, the panel was satisfied that a low-end entry point was appropriate," the RFU disciplinary panel said.

The RFU disciplinary panel comprised of Gareth Graham (Chairman), Mike Curling and Chris Hoadley.

South Africa vs Argentina
sast: 17h05 | local: 17h05

  • 37 | 15
LIVE
FIXTURE GMT VENUE
Sun, 20 August 2017
Griquas v Pumas 12h30 Kimberley
Fri, 25 August 2017
Pumas v Blue Bulls 17h00 Nelspruit
Sat, 26 August 2017
New Zealand v Australia 07h35 Dunedin
Western Province v Sharks 13h00 Newlands
RESULT SCORE
Sat, 19 August 2017
Blue Bulls v Free State Cheetahs 40 | 41
Australia v New Zealand 34 | 54
Fri, 18 August 2017
Western Province v Golden Lions 39 | 3
Sat, 12 August 2017
Golden Lions v Sharks 31 | 47
Western Province v Blue Bulls 45 | 34
Free State Cheetahs v Griquas 25 | 30
Wed, 09 August 2017
Blue Bulls v Sharks 20 | 28
Pumas v Free State Cheetahs 34 | 45
Griquas v Western Province 44 | 34
Sat, 05 August 2017
Blue Bulls v Golden Lions 54 | 22
Lions v Crusaders 17 | 25
Western Province v Pumas 34 | 19
Fri, 04 August 2017
Sharks v Griquas 41 | 3
Sun, 30 July 2017
Free State Cheetahs v Western Province 30 | 17
Sat, 29 July 2017
Sharks v Pumas 29 | 0
PREMIERSHIP
MORE LOGS
Pool
Team P W D L Pts
Wasps 0 0 0 0 0
Exeter Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0
Saracens 0 0 0 0 0
Leicester Tigers 0 0 0 0 0
Bath 0 0 0 0 0
Harlequins 0 0 0 0 0
Northampton Saints 0 0 0 0 0
Newcastle Falcons 0 0 0 0 0
Gloucester 0 0 0 0 0
Sale Sharks 0 0 0 0 0
Worcester Warriors 0 0 0 0 0
Bristol 0 0 0 0 0
Pool 0
Team P W D L Pts
London Irish 0 0 0 0 0