Chiefs edge Sharks to go top

Fri, 27 Oct 2017 21:49
Large exeter chiefs v sale sharks

PREMIERSHIP REPORT: Lachlan Turner scored the only try of the match as Exeter Chiefs moved top of the Premiership Rugby table with a hard-fought 10-6 win against Sale Sharks.

The Australian wing crossed minutes into the second half and that try, along with the boot of Gareth Steenson, was enough to earn the defending champions a fifth win of the season.

Steenson kicked a penalty and conversion for the visitors, while Faf de Klerk hit two penalties for Sale in a physical game at AJ Bell Stadium.

But the home side, for all their pressure, could not find a breakthrough try and remain in the bottom half of the table with just two wins so far.

The first half was low on quality as both sides kicked for territory and coughed up possession when within striking distance and we had to wait until the half-hour mark for Steenson to put the Chiefs ahead with a penalty.

De Klerk responded for Sale with a penalty of his own but then both he and Chiefs’ Henry Slade missed further efforts before the break.

Exeter, perhaps given a stern talking to at half time, found their groove straight after the re-start as Turner burst through and score unopposed from a ruck.

Sale then upped the ante themselves and James O’Connor made a 70m burst down the left before a desperate Chiefs defence scrambled back to deny him a spectacular try.

De Klerk did close the score with a monstrous 48m penalty but Exeter continued to control territory until the dying minutes.

A yellow card for Stu Townsend meant the visitors finished with 14 men and Sale piled on the pressure five metres out with scrum-half De Klerk  sensing glory, but the referee awarded a penalty to the Chiefs – allowing them to see out the game.

The scorers:

For Sale:
: De Klerk 2

For Exeter:
Con: Steenson
Pen: Steenson

Yellow Card: Stuart Townsend (Exeter Chiefs, 75)

Sale Sharks: 15 Will Addison (captain), 14 Denny Solomona, 13 Sam James, 12 Mark Jennings, 11 Byron McGuigan, 10 James O'Connor, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Jono Ross, 5 Andrei Ostrikov, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 WillGriff John, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Ross Harrison
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 James Flynn, 18 Halani Aulika, 19 George Nott, 20 TJ Ioane, 21 Cameron Neild, 22 Will Cliff, 23 Mike Haley

Exeter Chiefs: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ian Whitten, 11 James Short, 10 Gareth Steenson, 9 Nic White, 8 Thomas Waldrom, 7 Sam Simmonds, 6 Don Armand, 5 Ollie Atkins, 4 Mitch Lees, 3 Harry Williams, 2 Jack Yeandle (captain), 1 Carl Rimmer
Replacements: 16 Elvis Taione, 17 Alec Hepburn, 18 Tomas Francis, 19 Jonny Hill, 20 Sam Skinner, 21 Stuart Townsend, 22 Tom Hendrickson, 23 Tom O'Flaherty

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant referees: Jack Makepeace, Wayne Falla
TMO: Trevor Fisher


There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 24 November 2017
Ospreys v Glasgow Warriors 22h00 Liberty Stadium
Ulster v Treviso 18h05 Kingspan Stadium
Cardiff Blues v Connacht 18h35 Cardiff Arms Park
Leinster v Dragons 18h35 RDS Stadium
Newcastle Falcons v Gloucester 18h45 Kingston Park
Leicester Tigers v Worcester Warriors 18h45 Welford Road
Sale Sharks v Northampton Saints 19h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Sat, 25 November 2017
Bath v Harlequins 11h15 Recreation Ground
Italy v South Africa 13h00 Rome
Scotland v Australia 14h30 Cardiff
England v Samoa 15h00 Twickenham
Wales v New Zealand 17h15 Cardiff
Ireland v Argentina 17h30 Aviva Stadium
Cheetahs v Edinburgh 17h30 Bloemfontein
France v Japan 19h00 Paris
Sun, 26 November 2017
Zebre v Munster 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Kings v Scarlets 13h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Saracens v Exeter Chiefs 14h00 Allianz Park
London Irish v Wasps 14h00 Madejski Stadium
Team P W D L Pts
Exeter Chiefs 8 6 0 2 31
Saracens 8 6 0 2 29
Leicester Tigers 8 6 0 2 26
Bath 8 5 0 3 24
Gloucester 8 5 0 3 22
Wasps 8 4 0 4 20
Harlequins 8 4 0 3 20
Northampton Saints 8 4 0 4 20
Newcastle Falcons 8 4 0 4 20
Sale Sharks 8 2 0 6 15
Worcester Warriors 8 1 0 7 8
London Irish 8 1 0 7 7