Quins seal dramatic win over Sarries

Sun, 03 Dec 2017 18:08
Large tim visser v saracens   800

PREMIERSHIP MATCH REPORT: A last-minute try for Tim Visser gave Harlequins a dramatic 20-19 win over Saracens as the European Champions suffered a fifth straight defeat in all competitions.

Saracens had led a tight London derby from the off when Brad Barritt scored a try inside two minutes but a brace for Charlie Walker kept Harlequins in touch.

Owen Farrell kicked 14 points from the tee but it wasn’t enough as Visser collected Danny Care’s cross-field kick in the dying moments after Alex Goode’s fumble.

Saracens flew out of the blocks with Vincent Koch running a great reverse line to break through before offloading to Jamie George who fed Barritt for the games first try.

Owen Farrell, on his return from international duty, added the conversion and then surpassed 1000 Premiership Rugby points with a penalty on eight minutes.

Harlequins though were undeterred as Elia Elia was held up over the line and eventually they had their first try thanks to another delightful kick from Care.

After numerous phases of Harlequins pressure, the England scrumhalf put in an inch-perfect cross-field kick to Walker who only had to catch the ball and fall over to score.

James Lang reduced the deficit further with a 42nd-minute penalty but Farrell replied from the tee to restore Saracens’ eight-point advantage.

Another moment of brilliance from Care saw him tap and go a penalty on 70 minutes and Walker raced onto the scrumhalf’s kick through for his sixth try of the season.

A successful conversion from Lang meant it was back to a one-point match as the game enter its final moments but Farrell struck his fourth penalty to make it 19-15.

It wasn’t enough as Care again found a pinpoint cross-field kick, which Goode failed to collect, and Visser was on hand to dot down the match-winning score.

The scorers:

For Harlequins:
Walker 2, Visser
Con: Lang
Pen: Lang

For Saracens:
Con: Farrell
Pens: Farrell 4

Harlequins: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Charlie Walker, 13 Alofa Alofa, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Tim Visser, 10 James Lang, 9 Danny Care, 8 Mat Luamanu, 7 Chris Robshaw, 6 Renaldo Bothma, 5 James Horwill (captain), 4 George Merrick, 3 Will Collier, 2 Elia Elia, 1 Joe Marler
Replacements: 16 Dave Ward, 17 Lewis Boyce, 18 Kyle Sinckler, 19 Dino Lamb, 20 Archie White, 21 Jono Kitto, 22 Ian Prior, 23 Ross Chisholm

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Brad Barritt (captain), 11 Chris Wyles, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Richard Wigglesworth, 8 Jackson Wray, 7 Calum Clark, 6 Maro Itoje, 5 George Kruis, 4 Nick Isiekwe, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Jamie George, 1 Mako Vunipola
Replacements: 16 Christopher Tolofua, 17 Richard Barrington, 18 Juan Figallo, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Schalk Burger, 21 Ben Spencer, 22 Alex Lozowski, 23 Nathan Earle

Referee: Luke Pearce
Assistant referees: Hamish Smales, Roy Maybank
TMO: Keith Lewis

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 May 2018
Crusaders v Hurricanes 07h35 Christchurch
Rebels v Sunwolves 09h45 Melbourne
Jaguares v Sharks 19h40 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Sat, 26 May 2018
Chiefs v Waratahs 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Highlanders 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Brumbies 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 14h00 London
Stormers v Lions 15h15 Newlands
Leinster v Scarlets 17h00 Dublin
Team P W D L Pts
Exeter Chiefs 22 17 0 5 85
Saracens 22 16 0 6 77
Wasps 22 14 1 7 71
Newcastle Falcons 22 14 0 8 63
Leicester Tigers 22 13 0 9 63
Bath 22 11 0 11 56
Gloucester 22 11 1 10 56
Sale Sharks 22 10 0 12 54
Northampton Saints 22 8 0 14 43
Harlequins 22 7 0 15 36
Worcester Warriors 22 7 0 15 36
London Irish 22 3 0 19 22