Scarlets see off Leinster

Fri, 19 May 2017 19:45
Large full time  leinster v scarlets 800

PRO12 REPORT: Scarlets made the Pro12 Final for the first time after a brave defensive display in the second half was enough to see off Leinster 27-15.

The Welsh side became the first away team to win a Pro12 semifinal and they had to do it for the majority of the game with 14-men after Steff Evans was sent off at the end of the first half.

Scarletts ran in three tries in the first half to take a commanding lead but were forced to defend in the second half as Leinster failed to take advantage of the extra man.

Liam Williams scored two late penalties to take the game away from Scarlets and book their place at the Aviva Stadium next week, where they will play the winner of the second semifinal between Munster and Ospreys

Scarlets took the lead after just nine minutes when Evans finished off a good move started by Jonathan Davies who wriggled through a tackle on a counter-attack and he got it out to John Barclay, who passed it out to his wing to finish it off with an electric burst of pace and Rhys Patchell added the conversion.

The hosts got themselves on the board when Ica Nacewa slotted a penalty when Scarlets second row forward Lewis Rawlins was penalised for not releasing his man in the tackle.

After that, Leinster looked to add to that score straight away as they went on the attack almost immediately as Joey Carbery worked his way through the Scarlets defence but they managed to regain possession.

Leinster continued to pile on the pressure and scrumhalf Luke McGrath was only denied a try after excellent defensive work from Evans, who made a last-ditch tackle and Liam Williams got over the ball and snatched it back for the visitors.

But the pressure finally told as Leinster went over for their first try and put the hosts ahead. A well-worked team move was finished off by Garry Ringrose. The Leinster centre ran at pace and took an offload from Jack Conan before crossing the line and Johnny Sexton added the extras to make it 10-7.

But no sooner had Leinster scored their try then Scarlets replied with one of their own. This time it was Aaron Shingler who burst through a huge gap and combined with scrumhalf Gareth Davies to go over the line straight from the restart and Patchell scored a quick conversion.

And minutes later they ran in another try, this time after an offloading masterclass from Scott Williams, James Davis and Evans to send Davies in under the posts for one of the best tries of the season. And again Patchell added the extras to put Scarlets 21-10 ahead.

But with half time approaching, Scarlets were reduced to 14 men as Evans was sent off for a tip-tackle on Ringrose. Leinster went for the corner with the resulting penalty but the Scarlets were able to clear and make it through to the second half.

The visitors were forced to put in a real defensive shift in the second half as they looked to protect their 11-point advantage.

There was a huge cheer as Leinster's Hayden Triggs left the field for the final time before he retires at the end of the season and he was replaced by Devin Toner.

The pressure of the extra man finally told when Leinster stole the ball at the line-out and then used their power to push for the line and eventually Jack Conan crossed the line but Nacewa missed the chance to reduce the lead even further, as he failed with the conversion.

And Scarlets were able to extend their lead on a rare venture into the Leinster half when Liam Williams slotted a penalty to extend their lead to nine points and that was enough for them to hold on and make it back to Dublin for next week's Final.


For Leinster:
Tries: Ringrose, Conan
Con: Nacewa
Pen: Nacewa

For Scarlets:
Tries: S Evans, Shingler, G Davies
Cons: Patchell 3
Pens: L Williams 2

Red card: Steff Evans (Scarlets, 37 - tip tackle)


Leinster: 15 Joey Carbery, 14 Adam Byrne, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Isa Nacewa (captain), 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Luke McGrath, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Rhys Ruddock, 5 Hayden Triggs, 4 Ross Molony, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 James Tracy, 1 Jack McGrath.
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Devin Toner, 20 Dan Leavy, 21 Seán O'Brien, 22 Jamison Gibson-Park, 23 Zane Kirchner.

Scarlets: 15 Johnny McNicholl, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Steff Evans, 10 Rhys Patchell, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 John Barclay (captain), 7 James Davies, 6 Aaron Shingler, 5 Tadhg Beirne, 4 Lewis Rawlins, 3 Samson Lee, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Rob Evans.
Replacements: 16 Emyr Phillips, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Werner Kruger, 19 David Bulbring, 20 Will Boyde, 21 Jonathan Evans, 22 Hadleigh Parkes, 23 DTH van der Merwe.

Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Assistant Referees: Mike Adamson (Scotland), Simone Boaretto (Italy)
TMO: Alan Falzone (Italy)

Bulls vs Hurricanes
sast: 17h15 | local: 17h15

  • 13 | 12
Sat, 24 February 2018
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Bath v Sale Sharks 14h30 Recreation Ground
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 14h30 Twickenham Stoop
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Ospreys v Cheetahs 17h30 Liberty Stadium
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
Sun, 25 February 2018
Zebre v Cardiff Blues 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
London Irish v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Saracens v Leicester Tigers 15h30 Allianz Park
Fri, 02 March 2018
Blues v Chiefs 06h35 Eden Park
Reds v Brumbies 09h00 Suncorp Stadium
Kings v Dragons 17h35 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 19h35 Kingspan Stadium
Edinburgh v Munster 19h35 Myreside
Cardiff Blues v Treviso 19h35 Cardiff Arms Park
Harlequins v Bath 19h45 Twickenham Stoop
Sat, 03 March 2018
Sunwolves v Rebels 22h00 Tokyo
Crusaders v Stormers 06h35 Christchurch
Sharks v Waratahs 13h05 Kings Park
Sat, 24 February 2018
Lions v Jaguares 47 | 27
Waratahs v Stormers 34 | 27
Crusaders v Chiefs 45 | 23
Sunwolves v Brumbies 25 | 32
Fri, 23 February 2018
France v Italy 34 | 17
Leinster v Kings 64 | 7
Dragons v Edinburgh 12 | 25
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 21 | 10
Rebels v Reds 45 | 19
Highlanders v Blues 41 | 34
Mon, 19 February 2018
NWU-Pukke v UJ 18 | 15
Maties v CUT-Ixias 75 | 12
UCT-Ikeys v Shimlas 27 | 32
NMMU-Madibaz v Wits 29 | 32
Sun, 18 February 2018
Dragons v Treviso 15 | 18
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Glasgow Warriors 16 13 1 2 65
Munster 16 10 0 6 53
Cheetahs 15 8 0 7 41
Cardiff Blues 15 7 0 8 33
Connacht 15 5 0 10 28
Ospreys 15 5 0 10 26
Zebre 15 4 0 11 21
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
Leinster 16 13 0 3 61
Scarlets 15 11 0 4 54
Edinburgh 16 11 0 5 51
Ulster 15 9 1 5 46
Treviso 15 8 0 7 38
Dragons 15 2 2 11 17
Kings 16 0 0 16 4