Kings, Cheetahs to face depleted Leinster

Tue, 12 Sep 2017 20:13
Large leo cullen leinster 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Leinster will travel to South Africa without a number of key players.

Leinster play the Southern Kings this Saturday in Port Elizabeth and the Cheetahs the following Friday week in Bloemfontein in Rounds Three and Four of the Pro14.

In total, Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named 28 players and they leave Dublin on Tuesday and arrive in Johannesburg on Wednesday.

Those ruled out through injury include Dan Leavy (ankle), Rob Kearney (hamstring), Peadar Timmins (quad), Jamie Heaslip (lower back), Richardt Strauss (knee), Tom Daly (knee) and Garry Ringrose (shoulder).

Cullen also confirmed that lock Ian Nagle has had a procedure on a pectoral muscle injury picked up in training and will be out of action for up to 12 weeks.

Cullen also confirmed that Devin Toner and Scott Fardy were not considered for selection as their wives are expecting their first child in the next few weeks.

Leinster Squad: Michael Bent, Adam Byrne, Ed Byrne, Ross Byrne, Joey Carbery, Jack Conan, Seán Cronin, Barry Daly, Max Deegan, Peter Dooley, Dave Kearney, Jamison Gibson-Park, Cian Healy, Mick Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Cathal Marsh, Ross Molony, Jordi Murphy, Rory O'Loughlin, Fergus McFadden, Luke McGrath, Isa Nacewa, Andrew Porter, Noel Reid, Rhys Ruddock, James Ryan, James Tracy, Josh van der Flier.

There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 20 January 2018
Montpellier v Leinster 13h00 Altrad Stadium
Glasgow Warriors v Exeter Chiefs 13h00 Scotstoun Stadium
Cheetahs v Kings 15h00 Bloemfontein
Saracens v Northampton Saints 15h15 Allianz Park
Clermont Auvergne v Ospreys 15h15 Stade Marcel-Michelin
Treviso v Bath 17h30 Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Scarlets v Toulon 17h30 Parc y Scarlets
Sun, 21 January 2018
Leicester Tigers v Racing Metro 13h00 Welford Road
Munster v Castres 13h00 Thomond Park
La Rochelle v Harlequins 15h15 Stade Marcel-Deflandre
Wasps v Ulster 15h15 Ricoh Arena
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Glasgow Warriors 13 12 0 1 58
Munster 13 8 0 5 42
Cheetahs 11 6 0 5 30
Cardiff Blues 13 5 0 8 25
Connacht 13 4 0 9 24
Ospreys 13 4 0 9 21
Zebre 13 3 0 10 17
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
Scarlets 13 11 0 2 53
Leinster 13 11 0 2 51
Ulster 13 8 1 4 40
Edinburgh 13 8 0 5 37
Treviso 13 6 0 7 29
Dragons 13 2 1 10 14
Kings 11 0 0 10 4