Villagers battleground for Varsity Sevens

Tue, 19 Apr 2016 11:02
Large kovsies sevens champs800

NEWS: Ten universities accross South Africa will compete in the annual Varsity Sevens tournament at Villager Rugby Club, Cape Town over the weekend, April 30 to May 2.

After an intense Varsity Cup season, the three day festival promises to bring an fast-paced brand of Sevens rugby to be enjoyed, not only by the players but by the spectators as well.

The ten universities partaking in the tournament are: University of the Free State (Kovsies), University of Stellenbosch (Maties), Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU-Madibaz), North-West University (NWU-Pukke), University of Pretoria (UP-Tuks), Univerity of Cape Town (UCT), University of Fort Hare (UFH), University of Johannesburg (UJ), University of the Western Cape (UWC) and Walter Sisulu University (WSU).

Having been losing finalists on two previous occasions, Kovsies finally won their maiden title in 2015, when they beat UP-Tuks 24-19.

Defending champions will try to regain the tittle, however two-time champions University of Stellenbosch will not make the job easy.

Duitser Bosman, CEO of Varsity Sports urged spectators to come out in full force and support the varies teams.

"We want to deliver a quality atmosphere for everyone in attendance,

"This will be the third instalment of Varsity 7s rugby, and we urge fans to come out and support their teams by dressing up, and enjoying a weekend of action-packed running rugby, and a great party atmosphere." Bosman stated.

Varsity 7s Fixtures:

Day 1:
09:00   Kovsies V WSU
09:22   UP Tuks V UWC
09:44   UJ V NMMU
10:06   UCT V Maties
10:28   NWU Pukke V UFH
10:50   UP Tuks V NMMU
11:12   UJ V WSU
11:34   Kovsies V UFH
11:56   NWU Pukke V UCT
12:18   UWC V Maties
12:40   Kovsies V UJ
13:02   UP Tuks V NWU Pukke
13:24   UCT V NMMU
13:46   Maties V WSU
14:08   UWC V UFH
14:30   Kovsies V NWU Pukke
14:52   Up Tuks V UCT
15:14   UJ V UWC
15:36   Maties V UFH
15:58   NMMU V WSU
16:20   Kovsies V UWC
16:42   Up Tuks V Maties
17:04   UJ V UFH
17:26   UCT V WSU
17:48   NWU Pukke V NMMU

Day 2:
10:15   UP Tuks V WSU
10:37   NWU Pukke V UWC
10:59   UJ V Maties
11:21   UCT V UFH
11:43   Kovsies V NMMU
12:05   NWU Pukke V UJ
12:27   UCT V UWC
12:49   Maties V NMMU
13:11   Kovsies V UP Tuks
13:33   WSU V UFH
13:55   NWU Pukke V Maties
14:17   Kovsies V UCT
14:39   UP Tuks V UJ
15:01   NMMU V UFH
15:23   UWC V WSU
15:45   UJ V UCT
16:07   Kovsies V Maties
16:29   NWU Pukke V WSU
16:51   UP Tuks V UFH
17:13   UWC V NMMU

Day 3 finals:
14:00   Plate SF5 V Plate SF8
14:22   Plate SF6 V Plate SF7
14:44   Cup SF1 V Cup SF4
15:06   Cup SF2 V Cup SF3
15:28   Play-off 9 V Play-off 10
15:50   Loser Plate SF V Loser Plate SF
16:12   Winner Plate SF V Winner Plate SF
16:34   Play-off 3/4 V Play-off 3/4
17:04   Cup Final  


Crusaders vs Force
sast: 08h35 | local: 19h35

  • 0 | 0
Fri, 24 March 2017
Crusaders v Force 06h35 Christchurch
Rebels v Waratahs 08h45 Melbourne
Glasgow Warriors v Connacht 17h15 Scotstoun Stadium
Scarlets v Edinburgh 19h05 Parc y Scarlets
Dragons v Ulster 19h35 Rodney Parade
Treviso v Ospreys 19h35 Stadio Monigo
Sat, 25 March 2017
Blues v Bulls 06h35 Eden Park
Brumbies v Highlanders 08h45 Canberra
Sunwolves v Stormers 10h55 Singapore
Kings v Lions 13h05 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Zebre v Munster 14h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks 15h00 Sandy Park
Saracens v Bath 15h00 Allianz Park
Northampton Saints v Leicester Tigers 15h00 Franklin's Gardens
Leinster v Cardiff Blues 15h00 RDS Arena
Cheetahs v Blues 15h15 Bloemfontein
Treviso v Ospreys 19h35 Stadio Monigo
Jaguares v Reds 21h40 Buenos Aires
Sun, 26 March 2017
Wasps v Worcester Warriors 14h30 Ricoh Arena
Bristol v Gloucester 15h00 Ashton Gate
Mon, 27 March 2017
NWU-Pukke v UP-Tuks 14h45 Potchefstroom
Fort Hare v UKZN-Impi 16h30 Davidson Stadium
Wits v UCT-Ikeys 16h30 Johannesburg
NMMU-Madibaz v CUT-Ixias 16h30 Bloemfontein
UWC v WSU 16h30 Cape Town
Maties v UJ 17h00 Stellenbosch
Pool CUP
Team P W D L Pts
UP-Tuks 7 6 0 1 29
Maties 7 6 0 1 29
UJ 7 5 0 2 25
Shimlas 8 5 0 3 23
NWU-Pukke 7 4 0 3 18
Wits 7 3 0 4 16
UCT-Ikeys 7 2 0 5 9
NMMU-Madibaz 7 1 0 6 6
CUT-Ixias 7 0 0 7 3
Team P W D L Pts
UWC 6 5 0 1 27
Fort Hare 6 4 0 2 20
UKZN-Impi 6 4 0 2 20
WSU 6 3 0 3 14
CPUT 6 2 0 4 10
TUT 6 2 0 4 9
Rhodes 6 1 0 5 6