Thu 17 May 2018 | 07:11

Bulls throw rookie Libbok into Jaguares' den

Bulls coach John Mitchell ahead of Jaguares Round 14
Thu 17 May 2018 | 07:11
Bulls throw rookie Libbok into Jaguares' den

Pollard takes over the captaincy from Burger Odendaal, one of three players out injured from the team that beat the Sharks in Pretoria last weekend and will slot in at inside centre. This will hand a starting debut to Manie Libbok at flyhalf.

Libbok made six appearances off the bench for the Bulls already.

Injured lock, Lodewyk de Jager, will be replaced by Jason Jenkins who will partner Rudolph Snyman for the first time this year.

The flank berth vacated by Jenkins will be filled by Thembelani Bholi, with Handre Stassen taking over the impact role Bholi had against the Sharks.

Bulls coach, John Mitchell named Trevor Nyakane as loosehead in place of the injured Lizo Gqoboka, with Conrad van Vuuren moving into the No.3 jersey.

Former Junior Springbok, John Jackson, has been named on the bench and will make his Bulls and Super Rugby debut if he takes to the field.

Bulls: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Handre Pollard (captain), 11 John-Ben Kotze, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Marco van Staden, 7  Thembelani Bholi, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 Rudolph Snyman, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Replacements: 16 Jaco Visagie, 17 Nqobisizwe Mxoli, 18 Frans van Wyk, 19 Hendre Stassen, 20 Nicholas de Jager, 21 Andre Warner, 22 John Jackson, 23 Divan Rossouw.

Date: Saturday, May 19
Venue: Estadio Jose Amalfitani, Buenos Aires
Kick-off: 18.40 (23.40 SA time; 21.40 GMT)
Referee: Federico Anselmi (Argentina)
Assistant referees: Paul Williams (New Zealand), Pablo Deluca (Argentina)
TMO: Santiago Borsani (Argentina)

Check out the latest episode of Late Tackle:

PV: 3
Bulls Throw Rookie Libbok Into Jaguares' Den | Rugby365