Tue 7 Apr 2015 | 11:56

Schools Top 20 - April 7

Schools Top 20 - April 7
Tue 7 Apr 2015 | 11:56
Schools Top 20 - April 7
This is our first schools Top 20 of the season – a season that started early and had many Easter Weekend matches. We have lots of results, but ranking the teams is as hard as it has been even though this is the 17th year that we have been doing it.


We do not, let us say it again, use any form of arithmetic or technology in doing this. We, five of us, sit down and consider the evidence provided by match results, and draw it up. This is a process suggested by Professor Dunne of UCT's statistics department. In fact it has been the system we have used from the start.


We take into account the quality of opposition and the venues of the matches, many of which this time have been played at neutral venues.


Of course, there will be disagreements, sometimes passionate ones. But people should not take it too seriously, as there is no perfect way of doing this, none that will produce an absolute result. But it is a means to add to the great South African interest in schools rugby and to honour those who are doing particularly well in an increasingly competitive environment.


In trepidation and aware of limitations we have produced the first Top 20 of 2015.


It will change over the course of the season, especially when strong rugby sides, like Paarl Gim and Rondebosch, play more matches.


Schools Top 20 – April 7


1. Paul Roos


2. Paarl Boys' High


3. Grey College of Bloemfontein


4. Nelspruit


5. Eldoraigne


6. HTS Middelburg


7. Selborne


8. Maritzburg College


9. Monument


10. Waterkloof


11. Oakdale


12. SACS


13. Queen's College


14. Dale


15. Westville


16. Jeppe


17. Grey PE


18. Michaelhouse


19. Affies


20. Marlow


Teams that are close to this list are Diamantveld, Dr EG Jansen, Garsfontein, Kempton Park, Kingswood, Noord-Kaap, Northwood, Outeniqua, Potchefstroom Gim and Rondebosch.


As a matter of interest we give the Top 20 that ended 2014.


Schools Top 20 – 2014


1. Grey College of Bloemfontein


2. Paul Roos


3. Garsfontein


4. Dr EG Jansen


5. Grey High of Port Elizabeth 


6. Monument


7. Waterkloof


8. Glenwood 


9. Nelspruit


10. HTS Middelburg


11. Menlopark


12. Paarl Gim


13. Paarl Boys' High


14. Wynberg


15. Selborne


16. Outeniqua


17. Oakdale


18. Kempton Park


19. Maritzburg College 


20. Affies 

PV: 17