• Rugby 365 TV Rugby 365 TV
  • Contact Us Contact Us
  • Countries Countries
  • Homepage Homepage
  • Latest News Latest News
  • Laws & Referees Laws & Referees
  • Match Centre Match Centre
  • More Tournaments More Tournaments
  • Newsletter Newsletter
  • rugby365 TV rugby365 TV
  • Schools Schools
  • Search Results Search Results
  • Sports Innovation Summit Sports Innovation Summit
  • Tournaments Tournaments
  • Uncategorised Uncategorised
  • Rugby 365 TV
Fri 7 Jun 2013 | 07:32

Two fresh faces for Ireland

Two fresh faces for Ireland
Fri 7 Jun 2013 | 07:32

Two fresh faces for Ireland


Two Ireland Under-20 internationals will win their first caps for the national side when they take on the USA in Houston on Saturday.

Robbie Henshaw will start at fullback and Stuart Olding has been included at inside centre for the match against the Eagles.

Three other players – Ian Madigan, David Kilcoyne and Iain Henderson – will start for Ireland for the first time having previously been capped off the bench.

There are a further three uncapped players among the replacements with forwards Mike Sherry, Jamie Hagan and Tommy O'Donnell all included.

Mike Ross is the most capped player in the selected team and he packs down in the front row with Richardt Strauss and Kilcoyne.

Mike McCarthy and Devin Toner form the lock pairing with Henderson and Chris Henry on either side of Ireland's summer tour captain Peter O'Mahony amongst the loose forwards.

Speaking ahead of the game, interim head coach Les Kiss said: "We've had a good week of preparation and the players have settled well in Houston.

"This is a young team with five players starting for the first time and we are under no illusions as to the challenge posed by an experienced and improving USA Eagles team," Kiss added.

Ireland: 15 Robbie Henshaw, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Darren Cave, 12 Stuart Olding, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Ian Madigan, 9 Isaac Boss, 8 Peter O'Mahony, 7 Chris Henry, 6 Iain Henderson, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Mike McCarthy, 3 Mike Ross (captain), 2 Richardt Strauss, 1 David Kilcoyne.  
Replacements:16 Mike Sherry, 17 Jamie Hagan, 18 Tom Court, 19 Dan Tuohy, 20 Tommy O'Donnell, 21 Paul Marshall, 22 Paddy Jackson, 23 Felix Jones.

Date: Saturday, June 8
Venue: BBVA Compass Stadium, Houston
Kick-off: 19.30 (00.30 GMT Sunday, June 9)
Referee: Francisco Pastrana (Argentina)
Assistant referees: Bryan Arciero (Canada), Chris Assmus (Canada)

PV: 7
Two Fresh Faces For Ireland | Rugby365