Tue 21 Mar 2017 | 08:22

6N Women: England Worthy Champions

6N Women: England Worthy Champions
Tue 21 Mar 2017 | 08:22
6N Women: England Worthy Champions

They were certainly the best team in the 2017 Six Nations. In fact they have been the best team in the Six Nations since it started in 1996. In 22 tournaments, they have won 14 times, 12 times with Grand Slams.

Ireland were the only team that could have rocked the boat but try as they might they could stop England's Grand Slam.

The close match was at Cumbernauld outside Glasgow when Scotland, whose only other win had been over Wales, just got home against Italy.

Results Round 5

Scotland vs Italy, 14-12
England vs Ireland, 34-7
France vs Wales, 39-18

Previous Results

Round 1
England vs France, 26-13
Ireland vs Scotland, 22-15
Wales vs Italy 20-8

Round 2
England vs Wales, 63-0
France vs Scotland, 55-0
Ireland vs Italy, 27-3

Round 3
Scotland vs Wales, 15-14
England vs Italy, 29-15
Ireland vs France, 13-10

Round 4
England vs Scotland, 64-0
Ireland vs Wales, 12-7
France vs Italy, 28-5

Log after Four Rounds

1. England – 24 pts
2. Ireland – 18 pts
3. France – 16 pts
4. Scotland – 9 pts
5. Wales – 6 pts
6. Italy – 1 pt

France vs Wales

Wales went down to Brive on the edge of the Massif Central, a town where rugby is important and victory gloriously celebrated.

France kicked a penalty, Shona Powell-Hughes powered over for a try and France kicked another penalty. A try by lock Audrey Forlani took the half-time score to 13-5.

Each of the Carolines scored a try but Wales were not done. Twice prop Amy Evans scored for Wales but they saw France pull away when they used a maul for a try by Lise Arricastre and the match ended with a try by Jessy Trémolière, who thus ended the match with a bag of 20 points.


For France:
Tries: Audrey Forlani, Caroline Ladagnous, Caroline Boujard, Lise Arricastre, Jessy Trémoulière
Cons: Jessy Trémolière 3
Pens: Jessy Trémoulière 3

For Wales:
Tries: Shona Powell-Hughes, Amy Evans 2
Cons: Robyn Wilkins 2


France:  15 Jessy Trémoulière, 14 Chloé Pelle, 13 Caroline Ladagnous, 12 Elodie Poublan, 11 Caroline Boujard, 10 Caroline Drouin, 9 Jade Le Pesq, 8 Safi N’Diaye, 7 Marjorie Mayans, 6 Romane Ménager, 5 Audrey Forlani, 4 Céline Ferer, 3 Julie Duval, 2 Gaëlle Mignot (captain), 1 Lise Arricastre
Replacements: 16 Wendy Divoux, 17 Rkia Aït Labib, 18 Lénaïg Corson, 19 Gaëlle Hermet, 20 Yanna Rivoalen, 21 Audrey Abadie, 22 CarlaNeisen, 23 Patricia Carricaburu

Wales: 15 Elinor Snowsill, 14 Jasmine Joyce, 13 Gemma Rowland, 12 Rebecca de Filippo, 11 Adi Taviner, 10 Robyn Wilkins, 9 Sian Moore, 8 Shona Powell-Hughes 7 Rachel Taylor, 6 Sioned Harries, 5 Mel Clay, 4 Rebecca Rowe, 3 Amy Evans, 2 Carys Phillips (captain), 1 Cerys Hale
Replacements: 16 Lowri Harries, 17 Cerys Hale, 18 Catrin Edwards, 19 Siwan Lillicrap, 20 Alisha Butchers, 21 Keira Bevan, 22 Jodie Evans, 23 Jessica Kavanagh-Williams

Referee: Joy Neville (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Marie Lematte (France), Local
Television match official: Sean Davey (England)

Scotland vs Italy

There was no score in the second half of this remarkable match.

Italy scored all its points in the first 20 minutes, to lead 12-0, both tries scored by the hooker from driving mauls. Then Scotland fullback scored two converted tries, the first after a brilliant break and kick by centre Lisa Thomson which hooker Lana Skeldon converted from touch, the second on the stroke of half-time.

Of the 26 points scored in this match, hookers scored 14.


Fopr Scotland:
Tries: Chloe Rollie 2
Cons: Lana Skeldon 2

For Italy:
Tries: Melissa Bettoni 2
Con: Michela Sillari


Scotland: 15 Chloe Rollie, 14 Megan Gaffney, 13 Lisa Thomson, 12 Lisa Martin (captain), 11 Rhona Lloyd, 10 Helen Nelson, 9 Sarah Law (/), 8 Jade Konkel, 7 Louise McMillan, 6 Jemma Forsyth, 5 Deborah McCormack, 4 Emma Wassell, 3 Katie Dougan, 2 Lana Skeldon, 1 Tracy Balmer
Replacements: 16 Rachel Malcolm, 17 Heather Lockhart, 18 Lindsey Smith, 19 Sarah Bonar, 20 Lyndsay O'Donnell, 21 Jenny Maxwell, 22 Lauren Harris, 23 Eilidh Sinclair

Italy: 15 Manuela Furlan, 14 Michela Sillari, 13 Maria Grazia Cioffi, 12 Sofia Stefan, 11 Maria Magatti, 10 Beatrice Rigoni, 9 Sara Barattin (captain), 8 Elisa Giordano, 7 Lucia Cammarano, 6 Ilaria Arrighetti, 5 Alice Trevisan, 4 Isabella Locatelli, 3 Marta Ferrari, 2 Melissa Bettoni, 1 Elisa Cucchiella
Replacements: 16 Lucia Gai, 17 Gaia Giacomoli, 18 Michela Este, 19 Elisa Pillotti, 20 Valeria Fedrighi, 21 Veronica Madia, 22 Elisa Bonaldo, 23 Paola Zangirolami

Referee: Ian Tempest (England)
Assistant referees: Helen O'Reilly (Ireland), Hollie Davidson (Scotland)
Television match official: Eric Gauzins (France)
Timekeeper: Rebecca Wheater (Scotland)

England vs Ireland

This was a winner-takes-all match in that fair land across the Irish Sea. Both teams were unbeaten. The winner would be Champion and have a Grand Slam to boot.

For an hour the Irish were competitive. The half-time score was just 5-0 after a try by wing Amy Wilson-Hardy. After an hour the score was 10-0 after replacement prop Laura Keates scored during a period of England pressure on the Ireland line.

The last 20 minutes of the match produced 31 points, 24 to England. When Hooker Leah Ireland scored Irish tries the score was 20-7 with 14 minutes to go. Then Emily Scarratt and Lydia Thompson scored tries.

It was a convincing win for England, the Champions.


For England:
Tries: Amy Wilson Hardy, Laura Keates, Amy Cokayne, Emily Scarratt, Lydia Thompson
Cons: Emily Scarratt 3
Pen: Emily Scarratt

For Ireland:
Try: Leah Lyons
Con: Hannah Tyrrell


Ireland: 15 Kim Flood, 14 Hannah Tyrrell, 13 Jenny Murphy, 12 Sene Naoupu, 11 Alison Miller, 10 Nora Stapleton, 9 Larissa Muldoon, 8 Paula Fitzpatrick (captain), 7 Claire Molloy, 6 Ciara Griffin, 5 Marie Louise Reilly, 4 Sophie Spence, 3 Ailis Egan, 2 Leah Lyons, 1 Lindsay Peat
Replacements: 16 Ciara O'Connor, 17 Ilse van Staden, 18 Ruth O'Reilly, 19 Ciara Cooney, 20 Nichola Fryday, 21 Mary Healy, 22 Nikki Caughey, 23 Mairead Coyne

England: 15 Danielle Waterman, 14 Amy Wilson Hardy, 13 Emily Scarratt, 12 Amber Reed, 11 Kay Wilson, 10 Emily Scott, 9 La Toya Mason, 8 Sarah Hunter, (captain) 7 Marlie Packer, 6 Alex Matthews, 5 Harriet Millar-Mills, 4 Tamara Taylor, 3 Justine Lucas, 2 Amy Cokayne, 1 Rochelle Clark   
Replacements: 16 Vicky Fleetwood, 17 Vickii Cornborough, 18 Laura Keates, 19 Poppy Cleall, 20 Izzy Noel-Smith, 21 Bianca Blackburn, 22 Rachael Burford, 23 Lydia Thompson

Referee: Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Assistant referees: Sean Gallagher (Ireland), Paul Haycock (Ireland)
Television match official: Neil Patterson (Scotland)

PV: 2
6n Women: England Worthy Champions | Rugby365