Sun 11 Apr 2021 | 03:43

Bordeaux end Racing's Euro run in a dire French affair

Bordeaux end Racing's Euro run in a dire French affair
Sun 11 Apr 2021 | 03:43
Bordeaux end Racing's Euro run in a dire French affair

MATCH REPORT: Bordeaux-Begles booked an European Champions Cup semi-final spot with a 24-21 win over Racing 92 on Sunday.

*To recap all the drama CLICK HERE!

It was everything but exciting with both teams failing to deliver some tantalizing rugby.


France flyhalf Mathieu Jalibert kicked eight penalties, including the decisive 55-metre winner two minutes into injury time, to help Bordeaux-Begles to the victory.

A tight match saw Jalibert land three first-half penalties, matched by an Antoine Gibert drop-goal and two Maxime Machenaud penalties for three-time European finalists Racing.

Remi Lamerat saw yellow for a trip, but Jalibert’s boot kept Bordeaux, convincing winners over Bristol in the round-of-16, in the game.

Racing had flank Baptiste Chouzenoux sent off for a shoulder charging tackle in the 64th minute.

But replacement scrumhalf Teddy Iribaren nailed two late penalties to draw Racing level after the full 80 minutes.

There was drama as English referee Matthew Carley disallowed Bordeaux a try after the restart following Iribaren’s second successful kick.


Yoram Moefana scampered away to dot down after Ben Lam pressured a ruck.

But Bordeaux kept their nerve, turned the screw and won one last penalty, Jalibert making no mistake from distance to bag his team’s maiden European last-four appearance.

The scorers:

For Bordeaux-Begles:
Pens: Jalibert 8


For Racing 92:
Pens: Machenaud 4, Iribaren 2
Drop Goal: Gibert

Yellow cards: Rémi Lamerat (Bordeaux-Begles, 37 – deliberate foul), Baptiste Chouzenoux (Racing 92, 62 – shoulder charge)


Bordeaux-Begles: 15 Romain Buros, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Yoram Falatea-Moefana, 12 Rémi Lamerat, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Matthieu Jalibert, 9 Maxime Lucu, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Guido Petti, 6 Cameron Woki, 5 Cyril Cazeaux, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Vadim Cobilas, 2 Clement Maynadier, 1 Jefferson Poirot (captain).
Replacements: 16 Joseph Dweba, 17 Lekso Kaulashvili, 18 Ben Tameifuna, 19 Thomas Jolmes, 20 Alexandre Roumat, 21 Yann Lesgourgues, 22 Ulupano Seuteni, 23 Nans Ducuing.

Racing 92: 15 Emiliano Boffelli, 14 Louis Dupichot, 13 Olivier Klemenczak, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Antoine Gibert, 9 Maxime Machenaud (captain), 8 Jordan Joseph, 7 Baptiste Chouzenoux, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Donnacha Ryan, 4 Boris Palu, 3 Cedate Gomes Sa, 2 Camille Chat, 1 Eddy Ben Arous.
Replacements: 16 Teddy Baubigny, 17 Guram Gogichashvili, 18 Georges Henri Colombe, 19 Luke Jones, 20 Ibrahim Diallo, 21 Teddy Iribaren, 22 Francois Trinh-Duc, 23 Donovan Taofifenua.

Referee: Matthew Carley (England)
Assistant referees: Tual Trainini (France), Cédric Marchat (France)
TMO: Ian Tempest (England)

PV: 98