Get Newsletter

Cheika brings in 2015 hero for final Bok clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Argentina head coach Michael Cheika has revealed his team for Saturday’s Rugby Championship finale against the Springboks in Durban.


There are two changes to the starting XV that lost 20-36 to the Boks in Buenos Aires in Round Five.

Matias Moroni, who had a bench role last weekend, gets promoted to the starting line-up. He comes in for Matias Orlando in the midfield.

The other change is on the wing where Juan Imhoff takes over the No.11 jersey from Lucio Cinti.

Imhoff famously scored three tries in Argentina’s 37-25 win against the Boks in Durban in 2015.

Cheika has also made three changes to his bench.

Mayco Vivas takes over the No.17 jersey from Thomas Gallo, while the uncapped Pedro Rubiolo comes in for Rodrigo Bruni.


The other change sees Bautista Delguy getting Moroni’s spot on the bench.

Argentina: 15 Juan Cruz Mallia, 14 Emiliano Boffelli, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo De La Fuente, 11 Juan Imhoff, 10 Santiago Carreras, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Pablo Matera, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Juan Martin Gonzalez, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Eduardo Bello, 2 Julian Montoya (captain), 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Joel Sclavi, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Pedro Rubiolo, 21 Tomas Cubelli, 22 Benjamin Urdapilleta, 23 Bautista Delguy.

Date: Saturday, September 24
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 17.05 (12.05 ART; 15.05 GMT)
Referee: Damon Murphy (Australia)
Assistant referees: Frank Murphy (Ireland), Andrea Piardi (Italy)
TMO: Chris Hart (New Zealand)



Write A Comment