Sun 23 Jan 2022 | 10:03

Davids magic gives BlitzBoks gold ... again

Davids magic gives BlitzBoks gold ... again
Sun 23 Jan 2022 | 10:03
Davids magic gives BlitzBoks gold ... again

DAY THREE WRAP: The inaugural Spain leg of the Sevens World Series provided a weekend to remember in Málaga, as South Africa needed a late try to come out on top in an engrossing Final.


South Africa pipped Argentina to the gold medal thanks to the efforts of player of the FSelvyn Davids, who surged over the try line after the buzzer to clinch a thrilling 24-17 win.

The BlitzBoks have now won all three Series events this season, and five tournaments in a row, while their victory over the battling Pumas marked the third best winning streak of all time with a 29th straight victory.

(Continue below …)



South Africa have looked unbeatable at times during their imperious recent form, and went into their fifth consecutive Cup Final as big favourites, after conceding only one try all weekend in Málaga.

But Argentina, competing in their first Cup Final for five years, immediately sent a message of intent when Rodrigo Isgro crossed the try line early on, before the BlitzBoks struck back with a quick-witted tap-and-go from Davids.

JC Pretorius extended South Africa’s lead after the break, but the game was flipped on its head in the space of an astonishing minute.

Joaquin De La Vega scored a try, before notching another direct from the restart less than 60 seconds later, after gathering a fumbled effort to collect the kick-off and powering over the line.


The BlitzBoks reduced the deficit when Justin Geduld went over in the corner, but the conversion fell agonizingly short and left the Series leaders two points down with one minute remaining.

Davids burst through the defence to win it, evading a desperate tackle from Marcos Moneta to get over the line and spark joyous celebrations.

“We knew it was going to be tough here. We gave it our all, stuck to our instructions and played as ourselves,” said Davids.

All the results

Cup Final: Argentina 17-24 South Africa
Third place: Australia 20-24 England
Fifth place: United States 12-28 France
Ninth place: 34-5 Wales
Thirteenth place: Jamaica 24-29 Japan

Cup semifinals
South Africa 19-0 Australia
England 17-26 Argentina


Fifth-place semifinals
Canada 7-19 United States
France 20-10 Ireland

Ninth-place semifinals
Scotland 10-24 Spain
Germany 19-27 Wales

Thirteenth-place semifinals
Jamaica 0-0 Fiji
Kenya 17-26 Japan

Cup quarterfinals
South Africa 14-0 Canada
United States 7-26 Australia
France 5-12 England
Ireland 5-29 Argentina

Ninth-place quarterfinals
Scotland 17-12 Kenya
Spain 31-10 Japan
Germany 48-0 Jamaica
Wales 0-0 Fiji

Source: @WorldRugby7s

Sevens World Series standings

PV: 10