Thu 25 Feb 2021 | 01:56

Eddie Jones changes his England pack

Eddie Jones changes his England pack
Thu 25 Feb 2021 | 01:56
Eddie Jones changes his England pack

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Eddie Jones has made two changes to his England team to play Wales in a Six Nations Round Three match in Cardiff on Saturday.


Both changes come in the pack.

Jamie George and Mark Wilson are reclaiming their starting places they respectively lost to Luke Cowan-Dickie and Courtney Lawes for the match against the Italians a fortnight ago.

Elliot Daly is set to make his 50th appearance for England, at fullback.

Daly made his England debut in February 2016 in a 21-10 victory over Ireland.

Captain Owen Farrell is at inside centre, Henry Slade at outside centre and George Ford stays at flyhalf.

Ben Youngs continues at scrumhalf, with Jonny May and Anthony Watson on the wings.


George returns at hooker, with Mako Vunipola and Kyle Sinckler as props alongside in the front row.

Maro Itoje and Jonny Hill stay in the second row.

Mark Wilson starts as blindside flank, Tom Curry is openside flank and Billy Vunipola continues at No.8.

George Martin could make his England debut, after being named as a replacement.


Cowan-Dickie, Ellis Genge, Will Stuart, Charlie Ewels, Ben Earl, Dan Robson and Max Malins make up the replacements.

Eddie Jones with quote

“Wales is a really special fixture and rivalry,” the England coach, Jones, said.

“There is a long history between the two nations and the game means a lot to both countries.

“We know we’ll be up against a strong Welsh challenge on Saturday, but we’ve worked really hard in training this week and have got a very good team to face it.

“We want to show people what we are capable of, keep building our performances and the best is yet to come from this England team.”

In their remaining championship fixtures England will play France at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, March 13, before travelling to Dublin to take on Ireland on Saturday, March 20.

England: 15 Elliot Daly, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Jonny May, 10 George Ford, 9 Ben Youngs, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 Tom Curry, 6 Mark Wilson, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Jamie George, 1 Mako Vunipola.
Replacements: 16 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Charlie Ewels, 20 George Martin, 21 Ben Earl, 22 Dan Robson, 23 Max Malins.

Date: Saturday, February 17
Venue: Principality Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 16.45 (16.45 GMT)
Referee: Pascal Gauzere (France)
Assistant referees: Andrew Brace (Ireland), Frank Murphy (Ireland)
TMO: Alex Ruiz (France)

PV: 50