Thu 1 Oct 2020 | 03:19

Handful of changes for discarded Cheetahs

Handful of changes for discarded Cheetahs
Thu 1 Oct 2020 | 03:19
Handful of changes for discarded Cheetahs

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Cheetahs were forced to make several changes for their second warm-up match against Griquas on Friday.


World Cup-winning Springbok Frans Steyn, along with BlitzBok Rosko Specman and Cheetahs impact players Junior Pokomela and Malcolm Jaer will miss the match against Griquas due to the Springbok Showdown at Newlands on Saturday.

Steyn, who made his Cheetahs debut last weekend, has been replaced with Benhard Janse van Rensburg in the midfield.

On the outside, former Stormers utility back Craig Barry will replace Specman at left-wing while at the right Jaer’s spot has been taken by Carel-Jan Coetzee.

There is also a change at fullback with Adriaan Carelse replacing Clayton Blommetjies.

In the pack, Aidon Davis takes the spot of Pokomela.

Ruan Pienaar retains the captain’s armband.


Cheetahs: 15 Adriaan Carelse, 14 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 11 Craig Barry, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Aidon Davis, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Erich de Jager, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Charles Marais.
Replacements: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen, 17 Cameron Dawson, 18 Boan Venter, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Chris Massyn, 21 Marnus van der Merwe, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 Rewan Kruger, 24 George Cronje, 25 Howard Mnisi, 26 Reinhardt Fortuin, 27 Ruben de Haas, 28 Jacques du Toit.

Griquas: 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Daniel Kasensde, 13 Eduan Keyter, 12 André Swarts, 11 James Verity-Amm, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Carl Els, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 Monde Hadebe, 1 Mox Mxoli.
Replacements – from: CJ Conradie, Bandisa Ndlovu, Madot Mabokela, Adre Smith, Mzwanele Zito, Ewan Coetzee, Johan Momsen, Gideon van der Merwe, CJ Velleman, Chriswill September, Ashon Davids, Berton Klaasen, Jonathan Francke, Harlon Klaasen, Bjorn Basson.

Date: Friday, October 2
Venue: Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 11.00 (09.00 GMT)
Referee: AJ Jacobs
Assistant referees: local

PV: 11
Handful of changes for discarded Cheetahs | Rugby365