Wed 24 Mar 2021 | 01:07

Minor changes for top-of-the-table Reds

Minor changes for top-of-the-table Reds
Wed 24 Mar 2021 | 01:07
Minor changes for top-of-the-table Reds

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Queensland Reds have made four changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s away match against the Waratahs in Sydney.


Ryan Smith will make his starting debut at lock, while the versatile Seru Uru will start at number-eight following an impressive 2021 season so far.

Filipo Daugunu returns to the left wing this week, with Brandon Paenga-Amosa back in the starting side at hooker for Saturday’s match at Stadium Australia.

Paenga-Amosa’s inclusion means Alex Mafi will come off the bench in one-of-four further changes to the Reds’ reserves.

*Article continues below…

Video Spacer

Fresh after claiming the Australian Club Championship with Easts last weekend, Richie Asiata returns to the 23 as a replacement loosehead prop.


Backrow Sam Wallis also finds himself in the 23 again and could potentially make his Super Rugby debut, while Uru’s promotion to the starting side sees Harry Wilson as a finisher this weekend.

Reds head coach Brad Thorn said: “We’re looking forward to a tough contest against the Waratahs down in Sydney.

“After a big pre-season, Seru has been in some really good form and has earned his opportunity to get a start this week.

“This will be Ryan Smith’s first start in Super Rugby. It’s good pay for his constant hard work in our program and his development.


“You’ve also got Sam Wallis and Kalani Thomas on the bench who could make their Super Rugby debuts which is exciting.

“While at the other end, Angus Scott-Young will play his 50th game for Queensland. He’s a leader on-and-off the field and as a group, we congratulate him on this achievement,” said Thorn.

Queensland Reds: 15 Jock Campbell, 14 Suliasi Vunivalu, 13 Jordan Petaia, 12 Hunter Paisami, 11 Filipo Daugunu, 10 James O’Connor (captain), 9 Tate McDermott, 8 Seru Uru, 7 Fraser McReight, 6 Angus Scott-Young, 5 Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 4 Ryan Smith, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 Dane Zander
Replacements: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Richie Asiata, 18 Zane Nonggorr, 19 Harry Wilson, 20 Sam Wallis, 21 Kalani Thomas, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Bryce Hegarty

Date: Saturday, March 27
Venue: Stadium Australia, Sydney
Kick-off: 19.45 (09.45)
Referee: Graham Cooper
Assistant referees: Jordan way & Amy Perrett
TMO: James Leckie

PV: 22