Sat 17 Sep 2022 | 11:27

Raynal v Foley: New evidence about #THAT call

Raynal v Foley: New evidence about #THAT call
Sat 17 Sep 2022 | 11:27
Raynal v Foley: New evidence about #THAT call
SHARE

WATCH as we bring you new evidence of the contentious call by French referee Mathieu Raynal to overturn a penalty awarded to Australian flyhalf Bernard Foley.

ADVERTISEMENT

The Wallabies are adamant Raynal’s call cost them a certain win and a chance to reclaim the Bledisloe Cup that has been in All Black hands for 20 years.

The home team were on the verge of a stunning come-from-behind win, leading 37-34 in the final minute in Melbourne on Thursday when Foley was penalised.

Raynal reversed a penalty awarded to the Australians in the remaining seconds for time-wasting as Foley – in his first game for three years – delayed his kick, believing the clock was off.

But it was a monumental error, with the All Blacks instead awarded a scrum five metres out, and Jordie Barrett crossed in the corner for a sensational 39-37 win.

Now, new video footage of those dramatic final few minutes has emerged – a TikTok video by rugbycrazy_ that has every word transcribed to give a bit more context.

You decide if it was time-wasting or not!

ADVERTISEMENT

Source: @RugbyCrazy1

@rugbycrazy_ Abit more context to the last minute call by the ref. This clearly shows Australia time waisting #allblacks #rugby #viral #fyp #rugbychampionship2022 ♬ original sound – RugbyCrazy_

PV: 9
ADVERTISEMENT