Sat 8 May 2021 | 09:49

Schreuder helps Newcastle maul London Irish

Schreuder helps Newcastle maul London Irish
Sat 8 May 2021 | 09:49
Schreuder helps Newcastle maul London Irish

PREMIERSHIP WRAP: George McGuigan and Sean Robinson notched a brace apiece as seven-try Newcastle ran riot at Kingston Park, overpowering London Irish 52-27.


Louis Schreuder, Ben Stevenson and Tom Penny also went over for the hosts, while Brett Connon kicked 17 points in the Falcons’ first win in seven Premiership matches.

Tom Parton, Ben Loader and Motu Matu’u touched down for Irish.

The visitors led after a simple switch facilitated an overlap and Parton was able to go through a gap to score on six minutes. Paddy Jackson hooked his kick to the left of the post.

The Falcons levelled up with their first visit to the Irish 22, McGuigan crashing over after a quick penalty. Connon had the simple task of adding the extras from in front of the posts to make it 7-5.

The hosts’ advantage was extended on 31 minutes after a line-out straight off the training ground, with Robinson piling over the whitewash. Connon successfully added the conversion from tight to the touchline.

Jackson kicked a penalty for the visitors just inside the 22 in front of the posts with three minutes of the first half remaining after Newcastle had been penalised for not rolling away in the tackle.


With the clock in the red Loader scored his fourth try in five games after Irish had created space on the right, with Jackson dabbing the kick through for the winger to race on to. Jackson kicked the conversion.

The Falcons came out of the blocks fast in the second half, with Schreuder darting through to go under the posts after a deft offload from Callum Chick. Connon again had the simplest of conversions to put Newcastle back in front.

McGuigan grabbed his second of the game after another line-out, taking advantage of the extra man with Irish’s Curtis Rona in the sin-bin. The throw was collected by Mark Wilson and the ball moved back to the hooker to pile over, with Connon kicking the extras.

Newcastle grabbed their third 14 minutes after the interval as Stevenson used his pace and power to evade Parton before diving in at the corner. From almost the same position as the previous kick, Connon added his fifth conversion.


Irish hit back straight away through Phil Cokanasiga as they built a series of phases, and the centre was able to get in on the left wing. Jackson made no mistake to make it a seven-point score.

Connon continued his perfect kicking afternoon as he knocked over a penalty from 40 metres.

Irish scored a try from their own line-out routine on 65 minutes, with replacement Matu’u going in down the 5m channel. Jackson saw his conversion attempt cannon back off the post.

With little under 10 minutes remaining, Penny scored in the left corner after a period of sustained pressure, with Wilson popping a pass off the floor to set up the chance. Connon added the two points.

Two minutes were left on the clock when the Falcons added a seventh, with their offloads working wonders and Robinson grabbing his brace. Connon made it seven conversions to seal an emphatic bonus-point win.

Newcastle Falcons 52-27 London Irish

The scorers:

For Newcastle Falcons:
Tries: McGuigan 2, Robinson 2, Schreuder, Stevenson, Penny
Cons: Connon 7
Pen: Connon

For London Irish:
Tries: Parton, Loader, Cokanasiga, Matu’u
Cons: Jackson 2
Pen: Jackson


Newcastle Falcons: 15 Tom Penny, 14 Adam Radwan, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Luther Burrell, 11 Ben Stevenson, 10 Brett Connon, 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Callum Chick, 7 Mark Wilson (captain), 6 Will Welch, 5 Sean Robinson, 4 Greg Peterson, 3 Logovi’i Mulipola, 2 George McGuigan, 1 Trevor Davison
Replacements: 16 Jamie Blamire, 17 Kyle Cooper, 18 Mark Tampin, 19 Philip van der Walt, 20 Carl Fearns, 21 Sam Stuart, 22 Joel Hodgson, 23 George Wacokecoke

London Irish: 15 Tom Parton, 14 Ben Loader, 13 Curtis Rona, 12 Phil Cokanasiga, 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Albert Tuisue, 7 Blair Cowan, 6 Matt Rogerson (captain), 5 Rob Simmons, 4 George Nott, 3 Lovejoy Chawatama, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Will Goodrick-Clarke
Replacements: 16 Motu Matu’u, 17 Facundo Gigena, 18 Ollie Hoskins, 19 Chunya Munga, 20 Ben Donnell, 21 Nic Groom 22 Jacob Atkins, 23 James Stokes

Referee: Craig Maxwell-Keys
Assistant Referees: Jack Makepeace & Philip Watters
TMO: Christophe Ridley.

Northampton Saints 7-31 Gloucester Rugby

The scorers:

For Northampton:
Try: Taylor
Con: Hutchinson

For Gloucester:
Tries: Rees-Zammit 2, Slater, Singleton
Con: Twelvetrees
Pens: Twelvetrees 3


Northampton Saints: 15 George Furbank, 14 Matt Proctor, 13 Rory Hutchinson, 12 Piers Francis, 11 Tommy Freeman, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Tom James, 8 Teimana Harrison, 7 Lewis Ludlam, 6 Tom Wood, 5 Api Ratuniyarawa, 4 Dave Ribbans, 3 Paul Hill, 2 Sam Matavesi, 1 Alex Waller
Replacements: 16 James Fish, 17 Nick Auterac, 18 Ehren Painter, 19 Alex Moon, 20 Shaun Adendorff, 21 Henry Taylor, 22 Fraser Dingwall, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro

Gloucester: 15 Kyle Moyle, 14 Louis Rees-Zammit, 13 Giorgi Kveseladze, 12 Mark Atkinson, 11 Santiago Carreras, 10 Billy Twelvetrees, 9 Charlie Chapman, 8 Ruan Ackermann, 7 Lewis Ludlow (captain), 6 Jordy Reid, 5 Matias Alemanno, 4 Ed Slater, 3 Fraser Balmain, 2 Jack Singleton, 1 Val Rapava-Ruskin
Replacements: 16 Santiago Socino, 17 Jamal Ford-Robinson. 18 Bryan O’Connor, 19 Ben Morgan, 20 Jack Clement, 21 Willi Heinz, 22 George Barton, 23 Tom Seabrook

Referee: Ian Tempest
Assistant Referees: Hamish Smales & Wayne Falla.
TMO: Trevor Fisher.

Exeter Chiefs 41-10 Worcester Warriors

The scorers:

For Exeter Chiefs
Tries: Slade, Ewers, S Simmonds 2, Townsend, Vermeulen
Cons: J Simmonds 4
Pens: J Simmonds

For Worcester Warriors
Try: Venter
Con: Shillcock
Pen: Shillcock


Exeter Chiefs: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Jack Nowell, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Tom O’Flaherty, 10 Joe Simmonds (captain), 9 Jack Maunder, 8 Sam Simmonds, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Sam Skinner, 4 Jonny Gray, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 1 Alec Hepburn
Replacements: 16 Jack Yeandle, 17 Ben Moon, 18 Harry Williams, 19 Sean Lonsdale, 20 Richard Capstick, 21 Stu Townsend, 22 Harvey Skinner, 23 Ian Whitten

Worcester Warriors: 15 Jamie Shillcock, 14 Perry Humphreys, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Ashley Beck, 11 Alex Hearle, 10 Fin Smith, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Matt Kvesic, 7 Sam Lewis, 6 Ted Hill (captain), 5 Justin Clegg, 4 Andrew Kitchener, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Niall Annett, 1 Ethan Waller
Replacements: 16 Isaac Miller, 17 Marc Thomas, 18 Richard Palframan, 19 Joe Batley, 20 Kyle Hatherell, 21 GJ van Velze, 22 Gareth Simpson, 23 Harri Doel

Referee: Anthony Woodthorpe
Assistant Referees: Dean Richards & Robert Warburton.
TMO: Graham Hughes

Bath Rugby 20-40 Bristol Bears

The scorers:

For Bath
Tries: Watson 2, Priestland
Con: Spencer
Pen: Spencer

For Bristol Bears
Tries: Hughes, Penalty, Malins 2, C Piutau, Earl
Cons: Sheedy 3, Lloyd


Bath: 15 Tom de Glanville, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Max Clark, 12 Cameron Redpath, 11 Will Muir, 10 Orlando Bailey, 9 Ben Spencer, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Miles Reid, 6 Josh Bayliss, 5 Elliott Stooke, 4 Josh McNally (captain), 3 Will Stuart, 2 Tom Dunn, 1 Juan Schoeman
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Jamie Bhatti, 18 Christian Judge, 19 Charlie Ewels, 20 Tom Ellis, 21 Will Chudley, 22 Rhys Priestland, 23 Alex Gray

Bristol Bears: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Semi Radradra, 12 Siale Piutau, 11 Max Malins, 10 Callum Sheedy, 9 Andy Uren, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Ben Earl, 6 Steven Luatua (captain), 5 Chris Vui, 4 Dave Attwood, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 2 Bryan Byrne, 1 Yann Thomas
Replacements: 16 Jake Kerr, 17 Jake Woolmore, 18 John Afoa, 19 Ed Holmes, 20 Jake Heenan, 21 Tom Kessell, 22 Ioan Lloyd, 23 Alapati Leiua

Referee: Luke Pearce
Assistant Referees: Adam Leal & Jonathan Healy
TMO: Rowan Kitt.


PV: 11