Get Newsletter

Scotland end long wait for win in Wales

SIX NATIONS REPORT: Scotland finally ended their long wait for a win against Wales on Welsh soil with a 14-10 success in their Six Nations Championship finale at Llanelli on Saturday.


Victory saw the Scots spoil Wales captain Alun Wyn Jones’ landmark feat as the home skipper became Rugby Union’s most-capped player with his 149th Test appearance.

This was Scotland’s first win on Welsh soil since 2002 and also meant they had won three successive championship matches for the first time in 24 years.

By contrast, the result was reigning Six Nations champions Wales’ fifth successive defeat in all Tests under coach Wayne Pivac.

Scotland went ahead through an early Finn Russell penalty before Wales hit back through Rhys Carre’s converted try, a Scotland penalty cutting the hosts’ lead to 7-6 at half-time.

But Scotland replacement hooker Stuart McInally’s try just after the hour mark put Scotland into an 11-7 lead.

Although Leigh Halfpenny cut the visitors’ lead to 11-10, Scotland captain Stuart Hogg put the result beyond doubt when he landed a penalty with the last kick of the game after flanker Jamie Ritchie won a turnover.


The scorers:

For Wales:
Try: Carre
Con: Biggar
Pen: Halfpenny

For Scotland:
Try: McInally
Pens: Russell, Hastings, Hogg



Wales: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Liam Williams, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 James Davies, 6 Shane Lewis-Hughes, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (captain), 4 Will Rowlands, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ryan Elias, 1 Rhys Carre.
Replacements: 16 Sam Parry, 17 Wyn Jones, 18 Dillon Lewis, 19 Cory Hill, 20 Aaron Wainwright, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Nick Tompkins.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg (captain), 14 Darcy Graham, 13 Chris Harris, 12 James Lang, 11 Blair Kinghorn, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ali Price, 8 Blade Thomson, 7 Hamish Watson, 6 Jamie Ritchie, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Scott Cummings, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Fraser Brown, 1 Rory Sutherland.
Replacements: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Oliver Kebble, 18 Simon Berghan, 19 Ben Toolis, 20 Cornell du Preez, 21 Scott Steele, 22 Adam Hastings, 23 Duhan van der Merwe.

Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Mathieu Raynal (France), Christophe Ridley (England)
TMO: Tom Foley (England)

Write A Comment