Fri 13 May 2022 | 09:59

Sharks team shake-up for Cheetahs' visit

Sharks team shake-up for Cheetahs' visit
Fri 13 May 2022 | 09:59
Sharks team shake-up for Cheetahs' visit

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Sharks have a tough Currie Cup assignment this weekend when they travel to Bloemfontein to take on the Cheetahs.


Sharks Currie Cup coach Etienne Fynn made a number of changes to last week’s side.

He named a new front row of Khwezi Mona, Fezokuhle Mbatha and Lourens Adriaanse – for Dian Bleuler, Kerron van Vuuren and Wiehahn Herbst.

In the second row, Emile van Heerden replaces Ruben van Heerden.

Dylan Richardson takes over from James Venter and Mpilo Gumede comes in for Sikhumbuzo Notshe in a revamped back row.

There is just one change to the backline, where Murray Koster replaces Ethan Fisher at centre.

With three rounds of the tournament remaining – including this week’s action – five sides remain in contention for the play-offs.

* (Article continues below …)

The Sharks are currently in third place on the standings, but knowing there can be no slip-ups – with the Griquas three points behind in fourth place and the Pumas, with a game in hand, a further two points adrift in fifth place.


Bouncing back from last week’s loss to the Pumas at Kings Park will be the primary focus for the Sharks, although they will know they have their work cut out for them.

The men from Bloemfontein have been in imperious form this season, focusing all their rugby attentions on the Currie Cup.

They have not yet tasted defeat in this year’s competition and with a game in hand over the tournament-leading Bulls, will be going all out to secure top spot and home ground advantage in the knock-out stages.

Sharks: 15 Nevaldo Fleurs, 14 Marnus Potgieter, 13 Jeremy Ward (captain), 12 Murray Koster, 11 Anthony Volmink, 10 Boeta Chamberlain, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Mpilo Gumede, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Emile van Heerden, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Fezokuhle Mbatha, 1 Khwezi Mona.
Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Dian Bleuler, 18 Blaine Golden, 19 Le Roux Roets, 20 Nick Hatton, 21 Mthokozisi Mkhabela, 22 Joaquin Bonilla, 23 Ethan Fisher.


Date: Saturday, May 14
Venue: Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 14.30 (12.30 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant referees: Stephan Geldenhuys, Philip Kotze
TMO: Marius van der Westhuizen

Sharks team

PV: 11