Thu 23 Sep 2021 | 01:01

Springboks reveal who they rate best

Springboks reveal who they rate best
Thu 23 Sep 2021 | 01:01
Springboks reveal who they rate best

PLAYERS CHOICE AWARDS: At a virtual ceremony held on Thursday, South Africa’s top professional players revealed who they voted for as the best in the business.


Cheslin Kolbe walked away as Players’ player of the year and Duane Vermeulen secured the Fans’ Choice Award.

In total, 30 players were nominated across seven award categories.

This year’s nominees and winners represent a diverse mix of players from around the country.

All winners were selected by the players.

The winners

Forward of the year: Siya Kolisi (Springboks | Sharks)
Backline player of the year: Damian de Allende (Springboks)
Defender of the year: Lukhanyo Am (Springboks | Sharks)
Best off the bench: Trevor Nyakane (Springboks | Bulls)
Most improved player: Lusanda Dumke (Springbok Women | Border)
Fans’ choice award: Duane Vermeulen (Springboks)
Players’ player of the year: Cheslin Kolbe (Springboks)

Nominees and winners

Forward player of the year
* Siya Kolisi (Springboks | Sharks) – Winner
* Franco Mostert (Springboks)
* Evan Roos (Western Province)
* Eben Etzebeth (Springboks)

Backline player of the year
* Selvyn Davids (BlitzBoks)
* Damian de Allende (Springboks) – Winner
* Edwill van der Merwe (Western Province)
* Eduan Keyter (Griquas)

Defender of the Year
* Lukhanyo Am (Springboks | Sharks) – Winner
* Marco van Staden (Springboks | Bulls)
* Ruan Nortjé (Bulls)
* Branco du Preez (BlitzBoks)


Best off the Bench
* Trevor Nyakane (Springboks | Bulls) – Winner
* Malcolm Marx (Springboks)
* Vincent Koch (Springboks)
* Grant Williams (Sharks)

Most improved player
* Jaden Hendrikse (Sharks)
* Evan Roos (Western Province)
* Jasper Wiese (Springboks)
* Lusanda Dumke (Springbok Women | Border) – Winner

Fans’ Choice Award
* Babalwa Latsha (Springbok Women)
* Duane Vermeulen (Springboks | Bulls) – Winner
* Damian Willemse (Springboks | Western Province)
* Morné Steyn (Springboks | Bulls)

Players’ player of the year
* Siya Kolisi (Springboks | Sharks)
* Damian de Allende (Springboks)
* Cheslin Kolbe (Springboks) – Winner
* Franco Mostert (Springboks)
* Eben Etzebeth (Springboks)
* Lukhanyo Am (Springboks | Sharks)



PV: 13