Fri 21 Jan 2022 | 11:12

Stormers load up on Springboks for trip to Loftus

Stormers load up on Springboks for trip to Loftus
Fri 21 Jan 2022 | 11:12
Stormers load up on Springboks for trip to Loftus

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Stormers have named a number of Springboks for their trip to Pretoria on Saturday.


Steven Kitshoff and Salmaan Moerat will co-captain the Stormers in their United Rugby Championship clash with the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday and beyond.

Springbok stalwart Kitshoff is set to make his first United Rugby Championship appearance in the North-South clash.

The experienced prop will join forces with lock Moerat in a joint leadership role which will see them share responsibilities on and off the pitch.

Fullback Damian Willemse and scrumhalf Herschel Jantjies will also feature for the first time in the United Rugby Championship as they take their places in the starting line-up.

Loose forwards Deon Fourie and Hacjivah Dayimani both make their return from injury having featured for Western Province in their Currie Cup opener last week, with Fourie joining Evan Roos and Ernst van Rhyn in the loose trio and Dayimani set to make an impact off the replacements bench.

Moerat will link up with Springbok Marvin Orie in the second row, while Siyabonga Ntubeni and Sazi Sandi are alongside Kitshoff up front.


The backline features two former Springbok Sevens stars in Seabelo Senatla and Ruhan Nel, while Warrick Gelant is poised to be unleashed from the bench when the game opens up in the second half.

(Continue below …)

Stormers fixtures

Stormers: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Seabelo Senatla, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Deon Fourie, 5 Marvin Orie, 4 Salmaan Moerat (co-captain), 3 Sazi Sandi, 2 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff (co-captain).
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Adre Smith, 20 Hacjivah Dayimani, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Dan du Plessis, 23 Warrick Gelant.

Date: Saturday, January 22
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Griffin Colby (South Africa), Morne Ferreira (South Africa)
TMO: Marius van der Westhuisen (South Africa)

Stormers team

PV: 11