Sun 20 Jun 2021 | 08:13

Tuilagi added to England squad

Tuilagi added to England squad
Sun 20 Jun 2021 | 08:13
Tuilagi added to England squad

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Eddie Jones has named an updated 36-player England squad as they continue preparations for their July series of fixtures.


The squad have reconvened at The Lensbury, Teddington on Sunday ahead of their opening game in a week’s time – England A v Scotland A at Welford Road, Leicester (Sunday, June 27).

Seven players from the Premiership semifinalists Bristol Bears (Will Capon, Max Malins and Harry Randall) and Sale Sharks (Ben Curry, Curtis Langdon, Bevan Rodd and Manu Tuilagi) have been selected.

Northampton Saints’ George Furbank and Ollie Sleightholme have also joined up with the squad, which includes 22 uncapped players.

Jones said: “We had a really good training week last week. We’ve now added some new players and are looking forward to working with them.

“The players who aren’t with us now acquitted themselves really well in training and though they are disappointed to go home, we’ve made the point to them that if they keep working hard then there will be more opportunities for them.

“We will treat the week as a Test week, everyone will work hard and be ready for a competitive game on Sunday.”


Jones will name a further updated squad on Monday, June 28, following the Premiership Final and England A v Scotland A.

England will then play two Test matches at Twickenham Stadium – against USA on Sunday, July 4 and Canada on Saturday, July 10.

England squad:


Jamie Blamire (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)
Will Capon (Bristol Bears, uncapped)
Callum Chick (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)
Ben Curry (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Trevor Davison (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 21 caps)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 28 caps)
Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
Paul Hill (Northampton Saints, 5 caps)
Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors, 1 cap)
Curtis Langdon (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 8 caps)
Lewis Ludlow (Gloucester Rugby, uncapped)
Josh McNally (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
George Martin (Leicester Tigers, 1 cap)
Chunya Munga (London Irish, uncapped)
Beno Obano (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
Miles Reid (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
Bevan Rodd (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 22 caps)
Harry Wells (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)


Josh Bassett (Wasps, uncapped)
Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)
George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 3 caps)
Dan Kelly (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors, 6 caps)
Max Malins (Bristol Bears, 7 caps)
Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
Max Ojomoh (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
Adam Radwan (Newcastle Falcons, uncapped)
Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, uncapped)
Dan Robson (Wasps, 12 caps)
Ollie Sleightholme (Northampton Saints, uncapped)
Freddie Steward (Leicester Tigers, uncapped)
Manu Tuilagi (Sale Sharks, 43 caps)
Jacob Umaga (Wasps, uncapped)

PV: 32