Get Newsletter

URC Round Nine - Referee appointments

NEWS: The match officials for the United Rugby Championship Round Nine fixtures have been confirmed.


A number of this weekend’s appointments are part of the on-going referee exchange programme between the URC and English and French leagues.

International referee Mathieu Raynal of France will hold the whistle for Munster’s visit to Edinburgh, his compatriot Tual Trainini will take charge of Zebre Parma v Glasgow Warriors and Christophe Ridley of the RFU will be the leading match official for Leinster’s top-of-the-table clash with Ulster.


Sharks v Ospreys
(Kings Park, Durban – Kick-off: 19.10; 17.10 Ireland & UK time; 17.10 GMT)

Referee: Eoghan Cross (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Stephan Geldenhuys (South Africa), Griffin Colby (South Africa)
TMO: Sam Grove-White (Scotland)

Edinburgh v Munster
(Edinburgh Rugby Stadium, Edinburgh – Kick-off: 19.35; 19.10 GMT)

Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)
Assistant referees: Ian Kenny (Scotland), Ross Mabon (Scotland)
TMO: Philippe Bonhoure (France)


Stormers v Dragons
(Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth – Kick-off: 14.00; 12.00 Ireland & UK time; 12.00 GMT)

Referee: Frank Murphy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa), Christopher Allison (South Africa)
TMO: Ben Blain (Scotland)

Zebre Parma v Glasgow Warriors
(Stadio Lanfranchi, Parma – Kick-off: 14.00; 13.00 Ireland & UK time; 13.00 GMT)

Referee: Tual Trainini (France)
Assistant referees: Franco Rosella (Italy), Gabriel Chirnoaga (Italy)
TMO: Eric Briquet-Campin (France)

Connacht v Benetton
(The Sportsground, Galway – Kick-off: 15.15; 15.15 GMT; 16.15 Italy time)

Referee: Marius van der Westhuisen (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Stuart Douglas (Ireland), John Carvill (Ireland)
TMO: Mike Adamson (Scotland)

Bulls v Cardiff Rugby
(Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria – Kick-off: 20.00; 18.00 Ireland & UK time; 18.00 GMT)

Referee: Sam Grove-White (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Griffin Colby (South Africa)
TMO: Eoghan Cross (Ireland)

Leinster v Ulster
(RDS Arena, Dublin – Kick-off: 19.35; 19.35 GMT)

Referee: Christophe Ridley (England)
Assistant referees: Oisin Quinn (Ireland), Kieran Barry (Ireland)
TMO: Rowan Kitt (England)


Lions v Scarlets
(Ellis Park, Johannesburg – Kick-off: 13.30; 11.30 Ireland & UK time; 11.30 GMT)

Referee: Ben Blain (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa), Christopher Allison (South Africa)
TMO: Frank Murphy (Ireland)

Write A Comment