Get Newsletter

Wales v Argentina - Teams and Predictions

NORTH V SOUTH: Wales have made three changes for the first of two Tests against Argentina at Principality Stadium on Saturday.


All three changes come in the back line where Kieran Hardy gets the nod at scrumhalf to partner Callum Sheedy.

Jonathan Davies continues as captain alongside Uilisi Halaholo but Cardiff Rugby duo Hallam Amos and Owen Lane come into a new-look back three with Jonah Holmes.

Wayne Pivac has named entirely the same pack that faced Canada in Cardiff last weekend with Nicky Smith, Elliot Dee and Dillon Lewis providing an experienced front-row.

Ben Carter and Will Rowlands combine in the second-row, while Ross Moriarty, James Botham and Aaron Wainwright continue in the back row.

“Argentina provide the perfect opponents for us this weekend and are the exact test we want for this group of players,” said Pivac.

“We will be tested up front and the physicality will be at a level that some of these players have not experienced before but that will answer a lot of questions for us as we build towards Rugby World Cup 2023.


“It’s great to play in Cardiff once again and we want to play an exciting brand of rugby, which will have supporters up off their feet. It promises to be a great occasion.”

There is one further change among the replacements with Jarrod Evans recovering from the ankle injury that ruled him out from facing Canada.


@rugby365com: Wales by five points


Wales: 15 Hallam Amos, 14 Jonah Holmes, 13 Uilisi Halaholo, 12 Jonathan Davies (captain), 11 Owen Lane, 10 Callum Sheedy, 9 Kieran Hardy, 8 Aaron Wainwright, 7 James Botham, 6 Ross Moriarty, 5 Will Rowlands, 4 Ben Carter, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Elliot Dee, 1 Nicky Smith
Replacements: 16 Ryan Elias, 17 Gareth Thomas, 18 Leon Brown, 19 Josh Turnbull, 20 Taine Basham, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Jarrod Evans, 23 Nick Tompkins


Argentina: 15 Juan Cruz Mallía, 14 Santiago Carreras, 13 Matías Moroni, 12 Jerónimo de la Fuente, 11 Santiago Cordero, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Tomás Cubelli, 8 Rodrigo Bruni, 7 Facundo Isa, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Marcos Kremer, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Francisco Gómez Kodela, 2 Julián Montoya (captain), 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro.
Replacements: 16 Facundo Bosch, 17 Facundo Gigena, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Tomás Lavanini, 20 Matías Alemanno, 21 Gonzalo Bertranou, 22 Domingo Miotti, 23 Santiago Chocobares.

Date: Saturday, July 10
Venue: Principality Stadium, Cardiff
Kick-off: 14.00 (13.00 GMT, 09.00 Argentina Time)
Referee: Matthew Carley (RFU)
Assistant Referees: Luke Pearce (RFU) & Karl Dickson (RFU)
TMO: Claire Hodnett (RFU)

Write A Comment