Wed 24 Mar 2021 | 12:28

Waratahs change it up for Reds

Waratahs change it up for Reds
Wed 24 Mar 2021 | 12:28
Waratahs change it up for Reds

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Waratahs head coach Rob Penney has made seven changes to his starting team to face the  Reds in Round 6 of Super Rugby AU.


The Waratahs welcome back two players from injury and suspension, while also rewarding some impressive performers off the bench.

Izaia Perese makes his return from his three-match suspension to start at inside centre and is joined in the midfield by Lalakai Foketi who made a successful return from injury against the Rebels.

The front-row remains the same as last week, with Harry Johnson-Holmes and Te Tera Faulkner packing down alongside David Porecki.

Sam Wykes has been promoted to the starting side and locks the scrum alongside Sam Caird.

The backrow sees two forced changes with Wallabies Jack Dempsey and Lachlan Swinton ruled out with foot injuries.

Carlo Tizzano starts at openside flank, while Hugh Sinclair moves out of the second row into blindside flank and Will Harris makes his return from injury at his preferred position of no.8.


Jack Grant again partners playmaker Will Harrison in the halves, while captain Alex Newsome moves one out onto the wing alongside James Ramm, with Jack Maddocks reverting to fullback.

Wallaby Angus Bell returns to the side from his ankle injury via the bench, while the Waratahs will look from some impact from Jeremy Williams who had his best game of the year off the bench against the Rebels.

NSW academy graduate Max Douglas is set to make his Super Rugby debut if he takes the field from the bench.

*Article continues below…

Video Spacer

Waratahs: 15 Jack Maddocks, 14 Alex Newsome (captain), 13 Lalakai Foketi, 12 Izaia Perese, 11 James Ramm, 10 Will Harrison, 9 Jack Grant, 8 Will Harris, 7 Carlo Tizzano, 6 Hugh Sinclair, 5 Sam Caird, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Te Tera Faulkner, 2 David Porecki, 1 Harry Johnson-Holmes
Replacements: 16 Tom Horton, 17 Angus Bell, 18 Darcy Breen, 19 Jeremy Williams, 20 Max Douglas, 21 Henry Robertson, 22 Tane Edmed, 23 Mark Nawaqanitawase

Date: Saturday, March 27
Venue: Stadium Australia, Sydney
Kick-off: 19.45 (09.45)
Referee: Graham Cooper
Assistant referees: Jordan way & Amy Perrett
TMO: James Leckie



PV: 18