Tue 14 Aug 2018 | 07:18

France beat SA Schools in Durbanville

France beat SA Schools in Durbanville
Tue 14 Aug 2018 | 07:18
France beat SA Schools in Durbanville

Each side scored three tries but the French penalties in the first part of the match gave them a 28-21 win as the South Africans fought back in the second half.

France had the same team that beat England in Round 1, whereas South Africa had made 12 changes to the team that started the victory over Wales.

In the first half France lost lock Gauthier Maravat who was taken off on a mobile stretcher.

In the first half the South African schoolboys got precious little ball and resorted to being a tackling team. They did it well but in the process conceded penalties, three of which France’s fullback Cheikh Tiberghien goaled. That gave the visitors a 9-0 lead after 30 minutes.

The first after 11 minutes was made easier when the penalty was advanced 10 metres for playing within 10 metres. The second and third were against flank Sibusiso Sangweni, the first at a tackle, the second for a tip tackle which sent him to the sin bin for 10 minutes during which time France scored 12 points.

Just before half-time, SA Schools let a kick bounce and got themselves under pressure on their left. Juan Mostert tried to save the situation but as he was going out he passed inside – to Frenchman Yoram Falatea Moefana, who gave to Thomas Dolhagaray , who gave to Martin Dulon against the touchline. Dulon darted ahead and passed inside to scrumhalf Kevin Viallard who juggled and dived over in the right corner. 14-0.

The schools team let the second-half kick off bounce and were under great deal of pressure. There were two line-outs on the SA Schools 22 and then France played phases till the captain Pierre Jutge gave a pass under his armpit to Dulon who scored in the right corner. Tiberghien converted, and the score was 21-0.

But now the fightback started as the SA Schools side was reinforced by players from the bench. Twice they eschewed easy kicks at goal and twice they scored tries.

For the first try, they mauled, but the French contained them. The forwards started bashing getting closer to the line till eighthman Evan Roos plunged over the line to score. 21-7 with 25 minutes to play.

For the second try, they mauled and this time advanced. They went wide and were driven back to the French 22, but Dewald Donald and Jarrod Taylor advanced their cause, Taylor close to the line. Roos was closer and then hooker Jacques Goosen was over. 21-14 with 17 minutes to play.

Then France struck in spectacular fashion.

They had a scrum inside their own half and on their right. Viallard gave to Dolhagaray who gave to Falatea Moefana who immediately slung the ball to his left where Tiberghien ran onto it at speed and away he raced, 38 unchallenged metres, for a try near the posts. 28-14.

For the third try, the SA Schools kicked a penalty out for a line-out. They mauled, but this time Goosen broke away and scored. 28-21 with four minutes to go.

In those four minutes the school side attacked first but in the end France were attacking in an attempt to increase their lead.

After two rounds, France have won twice, South Africa and Wales once each and England not at all.


For France:
Tries: Viallard, Dulon, Tiberghien
Cons: Tiberghien 2
Pens: Tiberghien 3

For SA Schools:
Tries: Roos, Goosen 2
Cons: Hendricks 3


SA Schools: 15 Darren Hendricks, 14 Sibabalwe Xamlashe, 13 Muzi Manyike (vice-captain), 12 Brendan Venter, 11 Wyclef Vlitoor, 10 Juan Mostert, 9 Thomas Bursey, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Sibusiso Sangweni, 6 Tristan Dullisear, 5 Adrian Alberts (captain), 4 Lunga Ncube, 3 Hanro Jacobs, 2 Jacques Goosen, 1 Thabiso Mdletshe
Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Dewald Donald, 18 Herman Agenbag, 19 Celimpilo Gumede, 20 Uzile Tele, 21 Emile van Heerden, 22 Keketso Morabe, 23 Jarrod Taylor, 24 De Wet Marais, 25 Jurich Claasens, 26 Mnombo Zwelindaba, 27 Rynhardt Jonker, 28 Lwandile Menze, 29 Stravino Jacobs

France: 15 Cheikh Tiberghien, 14 Erwan Dridi, 13 Yoram Falatea Moefana, 12 Romain Fusier, 11 Martin Dulon, 10 Thomas Dolhagaray, 9 Kevin Viallard, 8 Thibaut Hamonou, 7 Matthias Haddad Victor, 6 Yann Peysson, 5 Adrien Warrion, 4 Gauthier Maravat, 3 Hugo Ndiaye, 2 Pierre Jutge (captain), 1 Elie Eglaine
Replacements: 16 Sacha Lotrian, 17 Mathis Sarragalet, 18 Aselo Ikahehegi, 19 Kevin Noah, 20 Baptiste Germain, 21 Joris Moura, 22 Tani Vili, 23 Alexis Decaux, 24 Rémi Brosset, 25 Hugo Zabalza, 26 Joseph Laget, Wael May

Referee: Keith Allen (Scotland)
Assistant referees; Jaco Smith, Bulela Qwane

PV: 87

France Beat Sa Schools In Durbanville | Rugby365