Sat 27 Oct 2018 | 01:30

Du Preez goes back-to-back in Finals

Du Preez goes back-to-back in Finals
Sat 27 Oct 2018 | 01:30
Du Preez goes back-to-back in Finals

CURRIE CUP REPORT: The Sharks are the new champions of the domestic scene in South Africa, with one player claiming a unique double.

The Sharks ended Western Province’s unbeaten run with a 17-12 win in the Final at Newlands on Saturday.

Flyhalf Robert du Preez, who was one of the stars for WP when they won in Durban last year, finally repaid his dad – Sharks coach Robert du Preez.

His seven points – two conversions and a penalty – were significant in the Sharks’ victory.

Also vital was the Sharks’ defence – which saw them keep Province tryless, while the visitors scored two tries of their own.

After a nervous opening quarter, in which both teams made some unforced errors, an offside penalty allowed utility back Sarel Marais to open the scoring in the 20th minute.

Right on the half-hour mark, Thomas du Toit carried the ball over the line – after Aphelele Fassi out-jumped Sergeal Petersen in the air – but the TMO ruled that the ball was held up in the in-goal area.

From the resulting scrum, the Sharks bashed at the line and Jean-Luc du Preez took the ball into the post-padding. The TMO again ruled against the Sharks.

From the next scrum the Sharks knocked on at the base, WP then won a scrum penalty and the hosts could finally relieve the unrelenting pressure.

From the subsequent line-out, the Sharks were penalised for a maul infringement and Marais made it 6-0.

The second half started with the Sharks in dominant form – their forwards carrying it upfield till hooker Armand van der Merwe barged over. Robert du Preez’s first attempt was wide, but because Sergeal Petersen had charged early, he was allowed a retake. This time he put the Sharks into the lead for the first time.

Marais almost immediately regained the lead with a penalty for a dangerous tackle.

The game now opened up and some sublime inter-passing saw Dan du Preez over the line, only for the TMO to rule that he lost control of the ball. However, the Sharks was awarded a penalty for a high tackle and Robert du Preez regained the lead for the visitors

Just on the hour mark, Curwin Bosch was wide of the mark with a penalty.

The next score again came from the Sharks forwards, working the ball through the phases until Tyler Paul went over from less than a metre out.

With five minutes left on the clock, Damian Willemse narrowed the gap to within a try with a penalty.

However, the Sharks held out for a nervous few minutes to claim the title – 17-12.

Man of the match: Ruhan Nel and Joshua Stander were Western Province’s two most influential players. The Du Preez brothers were all very influential – flyhalf Robert du Preez kicking the crucial points, while No.8 Daniel du Preez and flank Jean-Luc du Preez were brutally physical – as was hard-working flank Tyler Paul. However, the most influential man on the field was Sharks hooker Armand van der Merwe – winning our award.

Moment of the match: The turning point was the Armand van der Merwe try early in the second half – giving the lead to the visitors for the first time and really opened the game up.

Villain: Nobody in this match. Hard, brutal, but played in the right spirit.

The scorers:

For Western Province:
Pens: Marais 3, Willemse

For the Sharks:
Tries: Van der Merwe, Paul
Cons: R du Preez 2
Pen: R du Preez


Don’t miss this week’s Podcast…

Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Damian Willemse, 11 Sarel Marais, 10 Josh Stander, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 John Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Alister Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Jaco Coetzee, 21 Justin Phillips, 22 Dan Kriel, 23 JJ Engelbrecht.

Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Aphelele Fassi, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder (captain), 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Tyler Paul, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Gideon Koegelenberg, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Juan Schoeman.
Replacements: 16 Mahlatse Ralepelle, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Jacques Vermeulen, 20 Luke Stringer, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Kobus van Wyk, 23 Leolin Zas.

Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs, Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO: Shaun Veldsman

PV: 3863

Du Preez Goes Back-to-back In Finals | Rugby365