Thu 20 Sep 2018 | 12:15

WP bring in five Boks for Griquas clash

WP bring in five Boks for Griquas clash
Thu 20 Sep 2018 | 12:15
WP bring in five Boks for Griquas clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Western Province have been boosted by the inclusion of five Springboks for their Currie Cup encounter with Griquas at Newlands on Saturday.

Bongi Mbonambi, Wilco Louw, Sikhumbuzo Notshe and Damian Willemse have all been released from the Springbok squad and are joined in the starting line-up by a fit-again JJ Engelbrecht as Western Province look for their fourth straight victory of the season.

Mbonambi and Louw join Alistair Vermaak in the front row, with Caylib Oosthuizen, Scarra Ntubeni and Michael Kumbirai on the replacements bench.

Salmaan Moerat partners captain Chris van Zyl in the second row, while Notshe links up with Kobus van Dyk and Juarno Augustus in the loose trio.

There are three changes to the backline, with scrumhalf Herschel Jantjies making his first start of the season, Engelbrecht on the left wing and Willemse at fullback.

Justin Phillips, Dan du Plessis and Dillyn Leyds will provide backline cover.

Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that his team are looking forward to playing at Newlands again.

“It is always special playing at Newlands and we feel that we have an exciting team that can deliver some good rugby.

“We have built up some momentum, but there are still many areas we can improve and we want to ensure that we continue on an upwards trajectory as the season unfolds,” he said.

Western Province: 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 JJ Engelbrecht, 10 Josh Stander, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Ernst van Rhyn, 20 Justin Phillips, 21 Dan du Plessis, 22 Dillyn Leyds.

Date: Saturday, September 22
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19.30 (17.30 GMT)
Referee: AJ Jacobs
Assistant referees: Ruhan Meiring, Stephan Geldenhuys
TMO: Joey Klaaste-Salmans

Watch the latest episode of Late Tackle below:

Video Spacer

PV: 1301

Wp Bring In Five Boks For Griquas Clash | Rugby365