Thu 27 Sep 2018 | 11:55

Province readjust after Boks’ departure

Province readjust after Boks’ departure
Thu 27 Sep 2018 | 11:55
Province readjust after Boks’ departure

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT:  There are eight changes to the Western Province starting line-up against Sharks at Newlands on Saturday.

Five changes are in the forward pack and three are in the backline as Western Province look to make it five consecutive Currie Cup victories.

Captain Chris van Zyl, flank Kobus van Dyk and No.8 Juarno Augustus are the only forwards remaining who started in the 38-12 victory against Griquas last week.

Ali Vermaak, Scarra Ntubeni and Michael Kumbirai form a new front row, with Caylib Oosthuizen, Chad Solomon and Carlu Sadie on the replacements bench.

JD Schickerling starts alongside Van Zyl at lock, while Augustus and Van Dyk are joined by Ernst van Rhyn in the loose trio, with Chris Massyn among the replacements.

Scrumhalf Jano Vermaak, wing SP Marais and fullback Dillyn Leyds are all back in the starting line-up, with Herschel Jantjies and JJ Engelbrecht set to provide impact in the second half.

Western Province Head Coach John Dobson said that his team is determined to make the most of the opportunity at Newlands on Saturday.

“This will be a tough game between two good teams who are yet to lose this season, so we are grateful to have home advantage at Newlands.

“We have prepared well for this game and will be going all-out in what will be our last home game before the knock-out stages,” he said.

Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 SP Marais, 10 Josh Stander, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Chad Solomon, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Cris Massyn, 21 Herschel Jantjies, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

Date: Saturday, September 29
Venue: Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 14.00 (12.00 GMT)
Referee: Ben Crouse
Assistant referees: Egon Seconds, Divan Uys
TMO: Shaun Veldsman

PV: 1178

Province Readjust After Boks’ Departure | Rugby365