Get Newsletter

NPC finals from the beginning

Auckland yet to lose

As the 2005 NPC  prepares for the grand final in Auckland, we give the results of finals since 1992 when the first final was held.

The National Provincial Championship started quietly in 1976. It was divided into three divisions – a first division and second division (north) and a second division (south).  The teams were into divisions on the basis of their performances during the Seventies. The first division had eleven teams. This division of teams persisted till 1984 with promotion and relegation in operation.

From 1985 to 1991 there were three division – first, second and third – run on a league system. Since 1992 there have again been divisions leading to a final in each division.

Otago played in that first final but were thumped 40-5 by Waikato.

A league is fine and deserves its own reward but there is something special about a final, and there is just one a year for each NPC division. That means that for the players of Auckland and Otago there will be just this final. For players from the other provinces there will be no final at all. The All Blacks may play several Tests but there will be only one final, and not all All Blacks will be in it.

It is a special event, a crunch of a match. For many players it will forever be the pinnacle of their careers.

Auckland have never lost a final. Otago have won one out of five.

The Crusaders have won more Super 12 finals than Canterbury have won NPC finals!

Winners of the NPC

Division 1

1976: Bay of Plenty
1977: Canterbury
1978: Wellington
1979: Counties
1980: Manawatu
1981: Wellington
1982: Auckland
1983: Canterbury
1984: Auckland
1985: Auckland
1986: Wellington
1987: Auckland
1988: Auckland
1989: Auckland
1990: Auckland
1991: Otago


1992: Waikato beat Otago, 40-5
1993: Auckland beat Otago 27-18
1994: Auckland beat North Harbour 22-16
1995: Auckland beat Otago 23-19
1996: Auckland beat Counties Manukau 46-15
1997: Canterbury beat Counties Manukau 44-13
1998: Otago beat Waikato 49-20
1999: Auckland beat Wellington 24-18
2000: Wellington beat Canterbury 34-29
2001: Canterbury beat Otago 30-19
2002: Auckland beat Waikato 40-28
2003: Auckland beat Wellington 41-29
2004: Canterbury beat Wellington, 40-27

NPC Winners

The NPC has been up for grabs 29 times. A summary of winners would look like this:

14 Auckland
5 Canterbury
4 Wellington
2 Otago
1 Bay of Plenty, Counties, Manawatu, Waikato

Final Winners

There have been 13 finals. A summary of the winners would look like this:

7 Auckland
3 Canterbury
1 Waikato, Wellington Otago

Final Appearances:

The number of appearances in finals would look like this:

7 Auckland
5 Otago
4 Canterbury, Wellington
3 Waikato
2 Counties
1 North Harbour


Write A Comment