Fri 23 Feb 2018 | 03:41

Lovobalavu verdict disappoints Young

Lovobalavu verdict disappoints Young
Fri 23 Feb 2018 | 03:41
Lovobalavu verdict disappoints Young
SHARE

This followed his citing under law 9.13 for a dangerous tackle on Exeter Chiefs' Sam Hill in the final minute of last Sunday's Premiership match.

Under the regulations, Wasps have no recourse to appeal this decision once it has been deemed a red card offence.

Director of Rugby Dai Young has issued the following statement:

"We are extremely disappointed by this verdict and the sentence that has been reached.

"We haven't come across anybody other than the citing officer and panel that see Gaby's tackle as a red card offence meriting a four-match ban.

"The need to prioritise player welfare, especially in respect of head injuries, is something we fully support.

"However, when an international referee and his touch judge, the tackled player and others surrounding him, management and staff of both clubs plus many experienced TV pundits and rugby supporters all see this the same way, it is hard not to question this outcome."

PV: 2
Lovobalavu Verdict Disappoints Young | Rugby365