Thu 15 Feb 2018 | 03:34

Kings make one change for Ospreys

Kings make one change for Ospreys
Thu 15 Feb 2018 | 03:34
Kings make one change for Ospreys

Left wing Anthony Volmink is replaced by Michael Makase with the remaining members of the team all offered another chance to show what they are capable of after a disappointing last outing.

Concerns about the fitness of flyhalf Martin Du Toit (lower back) and scrumhalf Rowan Gouws (ankle) fortunately proved to be unfounded and the Kings will be buoyed by this news as well the fact that head coach Deon Davids arrived to join their touring group this week. Davids missed the match against Ulster due to illness and Barend Pieterse acted as interim-coach in his absence.

In a show of faith in their bench as well, the Kings have made just a single change amongst their replacements too with Luvuyo Pupuma coming in for the injured Daylan Van Der Westhuizen. 

The team will once again be captained by hooker Michael Willemse who features in third place overall on the official Opta Stats ranking for most turnovers won throughout the season.


Ospreys: 15 Dan Evans, 14 Jeff Hassler, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Dewi Cross, 10 Sam Davies, 9 Tom Habberfield, 8 Rob McCusker (captain), 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Olly Cracknell, 5 James King, 4 Adam Beard, 3 Ma’afu Fia, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Rhodri Jones.
Replacements: 16 Scott Otten, 17 Nicky Smith, 18 Dmitri Arhip, 19 Guy Mercer, 20 Will Jones, 21 Reuben Morgan-Williams, 22 Luke Price, 23 Hanno Dirksen.

Southern Kings: 15 Masixola Banda, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Michael Makase, 10 Martin du Toit, 9 Rowan Gouws, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Martinus Burger, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Bobby De Wee, 4 Stephan Greeff, 3 Pieter Scholtz, 2 Michael Willemse (captain), 1 Schalk Ferreira.     
Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Johan Smith, 18 Luvuyo Pupuma, 19 Jurie van Vuuren, 20 Eital Bredenkamp, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Barend Janse van Rensburg, 23 Harlon Klaasen.

Date: Friday, February 16
Venue: Liberty Stadium, Swansea
Kick-off: 19.35 (19.35 GMT; 21.35 SA Time)
Referee: David Wilkinson (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Stuart Gaffkin (Ireland), Richard Kerr (Ireland)
TMO: Simon McDowell (Ireland)

PV: 2
Kings Make One Change For Ospreys | Rugby365