Tue 13 Apr 2021 | 01:19

Cape Town gets Rainbow Cup bonus

Cape Town gets Rainbow Cup bonus
Tue 13 Apr 2021 | 01:19
Cape Town gets Rainbow Cup bonus
SHARE

NEWS. The Cape Town Stadium has been gifted the first match of the Rainbow Cup, despite ongoing challenges with the competition.

ADVERTISEMENT

Kick-off times and dates for the first three rounds of the Pro14 Rainbow Cup were confirmed on Tuesday – with the opening game kicking off in South Africa.

The Stormers and the Sharks will compete in the competitions first game on Friday, April 23′(18.00 UK / 19.00 SA) and will then be followed by Ulster’s derby match with Connacht and Zebre’s trip to Edinburgh.

On Saturday, Benetton will host Glasgow Warriors to start off a run of four matches – which will see the Bulls take on the Lions, Ospreys taking on Cardiff Blues and Leinster hosting Munster in a rematch of their Pro14 Final on March 27.

Dragons and Scarlets will finish off Round One on Sunday (13.00) at Rodney Parade.

Full kick-off details for the opening rounds of the Pro14 Rainbow Cup are below.

* Confirmation for Rounds Four to Six will follow once Pro14 Rugby has received all necessary approvals and permissions from the relevant governments and health authorities for the South African teams to travel.

Round One

Friday, April 23

Stormers v Sharks – Kick-off: 18.00 UK / 19.00 SA
Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town

ADVERTISEMENT

Ulster v Connacht – Kick-off: 20.15
Kingspan Stadium, Belfast

Edinburgh v Zebre – Kick-off: 20.15 UK / 21.15 Italy
Murrayfield, Edinburgh

Saturday, April 24

Benetton v Glasgow Warriors – Kick-off: 13.00 UK / 14.00 Italy
Stadio de Monigo, Treviso

ADVERTISEMENT

Bulls v Lions – Kick-off: 15.00 UK / 16.00 SA
Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria

Ospreys v Cardiff Blues – Kick-off: 17.15
Liberty Stadium, Swansea

Leinster v Munster – Kick-off: 19.35
RDS Arena, Dublin

Sunday, April 25

Dragons v Scarlets – Kick-off: 13.00
Rodney Parade, Newport

Rainbow Cup Round One

Round Two

Friday, April 30

Sharks v Lions – Kick-off: 18.00 UK / 19.00 SA
Kings Park, Durban

Saturday, May 1

Stormers v Bulls – Kick-off: 16.00 UK / 17.00 SA
Cape Town Stadium, Cape Town

Friday, May 7

Zebre Rugby Club v Benetton – Kick-off: 18.00 UK / 19.00 Italy
Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma

Munster v Ulster – Kick-off: 20.15 UK
Thomond Park, Limerick

Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh – Kick-off: 20.15
Scotstoun Stadium, Glasgow

Saturday, May 8

Connacht v Leinster – Kick-off: 19.35
The Sportsground, Galway

Scarlets v Ospreys – Kick-off: 19.35
Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli

Sunday, May 9

Cardiff Blues v Dragons – Kick-off: 13.00
Cardiff Arms Park, Cardiff

Rainbow Cup Round Two

Round Three

Saturday, May 8

Lions v Stormers – Kick-off: 15.00 UK / 16.00 SA
Airline Park, Johannesburg

Bulls v Sharks – Kick-off: 17.15 UK / 18.15 SA
Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria

Friday, May 14

Munster v Connacht – Kick-off: 18.00
Thomond Park, Limerick

Leinster v Ulster – Kick-off: 20.15
RDS Arena, Dublin

Saturday, May 15

Scarlets v Cardiff Blues – TBC May 15/16
Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli

Benetton v Zebre – Kick-off: 17.15 UK / 18.15 Italy
Stadio de Monigo, Treviso

Edinburgh v Glasgow Warriors – Kick-off: 19.35
Murrayfield, Edinburgh

Sunday, May 16

Dragons v Ospreys – Kick-off: 13.00
Rodney Parade, Newport

Rainbow Cup Round Three

Round Four: Weekend of May 29.
Round Five: Weekend of June 5.
Round Six: Weekend of June 12.
Final: Weekend of June 19.

PV: 23
ADVERTISEMENT
Cape Town gets Rainbow Cup bonus | Rugby365