Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Sat 9 Nov 2019 | 12:42

Leinster continue unbeaten streak

Leinster continue unbeaten streak
Sat 9 Nov 2019 | 12:42
Leinster continue unbeaten streak

MATCH REPORT: Defending champions Leinster continued their exceptional start to the 2019/20PRO14 season as they produced a convincing 42-11 win over Connacht.

After only dropping one bonus point so far in this campaign, they came out of the blocks in Galway and scored five tries before the break.

Connacht picked up a score of their own in the second half through Stephen Fitzgerald but the early blitz by Leo Cullen’s men was enough to seal their sixth successive victory.

The hosts put their first points on the board through Jack Carty’s boot in the third minute but that was the only time they were ahead.

Leinster scored their first try of the match as Andrew Porter bounced off three defenders and used his strength to touch down.

Fellow front-rower Ronan Kelleher soon scored his first of the match from a driving maul and minutes later had a second.

Porter secured the try bonus point with ten minutes of the first half remaining and Ross Byrne scored and converted the fifth to give Leinster a 35-6 lead.

Connacht reduced the deficit through Stephen Fitzgerald but Leinster’s defence remained defiant.

While an intercept try for James Lowe ensured the defending champions remain unbeaten this season.

The scorers:

For Connacht:
Try: Fitzgerald
Pens: Carty, Leader

For Leinster:
Tries: Porter 2, Byrne, Kelleher 2, Lowe
Cons: Byrne 6


Connacht: 15 Darragh Leader, 14 Niyi Adeolokun, 13 Tom Farrell, 12 Peter Robb, 11 Stephen Fitzgerald, 10 Jack Carty, 9 Caolin Blade, 8 Paul Boyle, 7 Jarrad Butler (captain), 6 Eoghan Masterson, 5 Joe Maksymiw, 4 Cillian Gallagher, 3 Finlay Bealham, 2 Tom McCartney, 1 Denis Buckley.
Replacements: 16 Dave Heffernan, 17 Matthew Burke, 18 Dominic Robertson-McCoy, 19 Sean O’Brien, 20 Colby Fainga’a, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Bundee Aki, 23 Kyle Godwin.

Leinster: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Adam Byrne, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Joe Tomane, 11 James Lowe, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Luke McGrath, 8 Max Deegan, 7 Will Connors, 6 Josh Murphy, 5 Scott Fardy (captain), 4 Devin Toner, 3 Andrew Porter, 2 Rónan Kelleher, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 James Tracy, 17 Ed Byrne, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Ross Molony, 20 Rhys Ruddock, 21 Jamison Gibson-Park, 22 Ciarán Frawley, 23 Rob Kearney.

Referee: Sean Gallagher (Ireland)
Assistant referees: George Clancy (Ireland), Jonny Erskine (Ireland)
TMO: Leo Colgan (Ireland)


PV: 3540

Leinster continue unbeaten streak | Rugby365